Youth revolt causes the denominational regime to falter



No one could predict the new Lebanese insurgency. Anger against a new tax has turned into a general challenge to the old caste system run by large denominational families, in the context of a widespread economic crisis.

By Atmane Tazaghart, in Beirut

 Everything seemed calm on Hamra Street, the main artery in central Beirut, on Thursday, October 17. When, suddenly, a horde of young hooded bikers invade the street and destroy everything in their way. Shops are spared, but road signs and traffic lights are ripped off, garbage cans spilled or burned. And a little further down, still in the city centre, a few bank branches were targeted.

On the terrace of the Horse Shoe, a famous café known as a landmark of the secular and left-winged intelligentsia, the customers have remained almost unchanged. And this despite the fact that this café has repeatedly changed ownership and name and has been the target of numerous attacks, including an ISIS attack in January 2017.

In the distance, I recognize Mahmoud Mroueh, a former journalist with the legendary Es Safir newspaper, who died in 2016, whose slogan was “the voice of the voiceless”. He explained to me that, a few hours earlier, following calls made on social networks, young people who had been overwhelmed by the economic crisis, accentuated by the rampant corruption, had met on the Fouad Ch’hab bridge, known during the civil war as the Ring, because it represented the dividing line between East and West Beirut.

The symbol is very strong for this youth who want to be “united in citizenship, rejecting tribal and confessional barriers”. However, no one could imagine that the cry of anger of these few thousand young people calling for the overthrow of the “government of the corrupt” would spread, the next day, not only to other parts of the capital – in particular to Martyrs Square, the center of political and social protest movements – but also to all the cities and provinces of the country of the Cedar.

On Sunday, October 20, on the fourth day of protests, the number of demonstrators peaks at more than one million, out of a population of 6 million. And very quickly, the anti-corruption grumbling turned into an uprising against the “confessional sharing” regime, in force in the country since the Taif Agreement, which led to civil war in 1989.

This emancipatory impulse gave rise to a new spectacle, which no one could predict or even imagine: In Jounieh, the Chique Christian suburb, in the north of Beirut, young demonstrators are conspiring both with President Michel Aoun and his Christian rival Samir Geagea; in Shiite cities in the south, such as Nabatieh, the offices of several Hezbollah MPs are ransacked; and in Tyre, the baltaguia of the irremovable Speaker of Parliament and leader of the Amal movement, Nabih Berri, were overwhelmed by thousands of young Shiites attacking the giant portraits of their leader that adorn the city’s main squares.

After a first abortive and violently repressed revolt in August 2015, Lebanon finally holds its anti-confessional revolution. “It is not surprising,” explains Pierre Abi Saab, editor-in-chief of the newspaper al-Akhbar, “because behind the corrupt system with which the insurgent youth wants to fight, there are the same ten big families who hold the confessional regime. And to the traditional dynasties” (the Hariri among the Sunnis, Berri among the Shiites, Joumblatt among the Druzes, Gemayel or Frangié among the Christians…), “who share a tribal and confessional leadership inherited from generation to generation, has been added a new caste of businessmen and crooked politicians, who are often the business partners, see the sponsors of the old barons of the confessional system…

Also at al-Akhbar newspaper, we are attending an editorial meeting to which two political figures who seem to be in opposition are invited: Charbel Nahas and Abdelhalim Fadlallah. The first is a figure of the secular left, a former Minister of Labour, leader of the trans-community party “Citizens of a State”. The second is an economist, a member of the political leadership of Hezbollah.

Both men acknowledge that the unhealthy mix of gender between politics and business has given rise to “incestuous alliances” that have brought the country to the brink of economic collapse and social implosion. Agreeing that the possibility of an early legislative election, mentioned by Prime Minister Saad Hariri, would only regenerate the old confessional system. They diverge, however, on the nature of the alternative to be built.

Nahas calls for a “transition period”, with a roadmap for the resignation of the government, the dissolution of parliament and the appointment of a “government of powers” with special powers, to put in place a plan to rescue the economy, independent monitoring bodies to effectively fight corruption and constitutional reform to get out of the confessional system.

Fadlallah considers that the greatest danger would be the institutional vacuum. He welcomed the cross-confessional momentum of the youth revolt, but called for a gradual political evolution, believing that “breaking everything at once would be a leap into the unknown with risky consequences”. To which Charbel Nahas replies, cordially but firmly, that “Hezbollah does not really want to leave the confessional system, because it is itself a confessional party, armed and linked to a foreign country which is Iran”.

In an equally cordial tone, Fadlallah replied that “Hizb’s motivations are not religious, but political. As it is the majority political force, they are anxious not to upset the current political balances, for fear of finding themselves in the dominant and hegemonic position that once belonged to Syria. This would be a political mistake that the Hizb does not want to avoid at all costs…

A sharp and straightforward debate, as only Beirut knows how to welcome, which is nourished by the effervescence of a country eager for exchanges and sharing, far from the divisions instrumentalized by the powerful, and which contrasts with an Arab world too long overwhelmed by the single thought.

an equally cordial tone, Fadlallah replied that “Hizb’s motivations are not religious, but political. As it is the majority political force, they are anxious not to upset the current political balances, for fear of finding themselves in the dominant and hegemonic position that once belonged to Syria. This would be a political mistake that the Hizb does not want to avoid at all costs…

A sharp and straightforward debate, as only Beirut knows how to welcome, which is nourished by the effervescence of a country eager for exchanges and sharing, far from the divisions instrumentalized by the powerful, and which contrasts with an Arab world too long overwhelmed by the single thought.

La révolte des jeunes fait vaciller le régime confessionnel



Personne ne pouvait prédire la nouvelle insurrection libanaise. La colère contre une nouvelle taxe s’est transformée en contestation générale du vieux système de castes géré par les grandes familles confessionnelles, sur la toile de fond d’une vaste crise économique.

Par Atmane Tazaghart, à Beyrouth

Tout avait l’air calme sur la rue Hamra, l’artère principale du centre de Beyrouth, en ce jeudi 17 octobre. Quand, soudain, une horde de jeunes motards cagoulés investit la rue et saccage tout sur son passage. Les commerces sont épargnés, mais les panneaux signalétiques et les feux de circulation sont arrachées, le poubelles reversées ou brulées. Et un peu plus bas, toujours dans le centre-ville, quelques agence bancaires sont prises pour cibles.

A la terrasse du Horse Shoe, célèbre café connu pour être un repère de l’intelligentsia laïque et gauchisante, la clientèle n’a presque pas changé. Et ce malgré le fait que ce café a maintes fois changé de propriétaire et de nom et fut la cible de nombreuses attaques, dont un attentat de Daech en janvier 2017.

Au loin, je reconnais Mahmoud Mroueh, ancien journaliste au légendaire journal Es Safir, disparu en 2016, dont le slogan était « la voix des sans voix ». Il m’explique que, quelques heures auparavant, suite à des appels lancés sur les réseaux sociaux, des jeunes excédés par la crise économique, accentuée par la corruption galopante, se sont donné rendez-vous sur le pont Fouad Ch’hab, connu du temps de la guerre civile sous le nom de Ring, car il représentait la ligne de démarcation entre Beyrouth-Est et Beyrouth-Ouest.

Le symbole est très fort pour cette jeunesse qui se veut « unie dans la citoyenneté, réfutant les barrières tribales et confessionnelles ». Nul ne pouvait, cependant, imaginer que le cri de colère de ces quelques milliers de jeunes appelant au renversement du « gouvernement des corrompus » allait faire tâche d’huile, pour s’étendre, dès le lendemain, non seulement aux autres quartiers de la capitale -notamment à la Place des Martyrs, haut lieu des mouvements de contestation politique et sociale- mais aussi à toutes les villes et les provinces du pays du Cèdre.

Dimanche 20 octobre, au quatrième jour des protestations, le nombre de manifestants culmine à plus d’un million, sur un population de 6 millions. Et très vite, la grogne anti corruption se mue en soulèvement contre le régime du « partage confessionnel », en vigueur dans le pays depuis l’accord de Taëf, qui a mis fait à la guerre civile, en 1989.

Cet élan émancipateur a donné lieu à un spectacle inédit, que nul ne pouvait prédire ni même imaginer : à Jounieh, la chique banlieue chrétienne, au nord de Beyrouth, les jeunes manifestants conspuent tout à la fois le président Michel Aoun et son rival chrétien Samir Geagea ; dans les villes chiite du sud, comme à Nabatieh, les permanences de plusieurs députés du Hezbollah sont saccagées ; et à Tyr, les baltaguia de l’inamovible président du parlement et leader du mouvement Amal, Nabih Berri, ont été débordés par des milliers de jeunes chiites s’attaquant au portraits géants de leur chef qui ornent les principales places de la ville.

Après une première révolte avortée et violemment réprimée, en aout 2015, le Liban tient enfin sa révolution anti confessionnelle. « Rien d’étonnant, explique Pierre Abi Saab, rédacteur en chef du journal al-Akhbar, car derrière le système corrompu, avec lequel la jeunesse insurgée veut en découdre, on retrouve la même dizaine de « grandes familles » qui tiennent le « régime confessionnel ». Et aux « dynasties traditionnelles » (les Hariri chez les sunnites, Berri chez les chiites, Joumblatt chez le Druzes, Gemayel ou Frangié chez les chrétiens …), qui se partagent un leadership tribal et confessionnel hérité de génération en génération, s’est greffée une « nouvelle caste » d’homme d’affaires et de politiciens véreux, qui sont souvent le associés en affaires, voir les sponsors des « vieux barons » du système confessionnel… »

Toujours au journal al-Akhbar, nous assistons à une conférence de rédaction à laquelle sont conviés deux figures politiques que tout semble opposer : Charbel Nahas et Abdelhalim Fadlallah. Le premier est une figure de la gauche laïque, ancien ministre du travail, leader du parti trans-communautaire « Citoyennes et citoyens d’un Etat ». Le second est un économiste, membre de la direction politique du Hezbollah.

Les deux hommes reconnaissent que le malsain mélange des genres entre politique et affairisme a donné naissance à des « alliances incestueuses » qui ont mené le pays au bord du gouffre économique et de l’implosion sociale. S’accordant sur le fait que la piste d’une élection législative anticipée, évoquée par le premier ministre Saad Hariri, ne ferait que régénérer le vieux système confessionnel. Ils divergent, cependant, sur la nature de l’alternative à construire.

Nahas plaide pour une « période de transition », avec comme feuille de route la démission du gouvernement, la dissolution du parlement et la nomination d’un « gouvernement de compétences » doté de pouvoirs spéciaux, pour mettre en place un plan de sauvetage de l’économie, des instances indépendantes de contrôle pour lutter efficacement contre la corruption et une reforme constitutionnelle pour sortir du système confessionnel.

Fadlallah considère que le plus grand danger serait le vide institutionnel. Il salut l’élan trans-confessionnel de la révolte des jeunes, mais plaide pour une évolution politique graduelle, estimant que « tout casser d’un coup serait un saut dans l’inconnu aux conséquence hasardeuses ». Ce à quoi Charbel Nahas rétorque, cordialement mais fermement, que « le Hezbollah ne veut en réalité pas sortir du système confessionnel, car il est lui-même un parti confessionnel, armé de surcroit et lié à un pays étranger qui est l’Iran ».

Sur un ton tout aussi cordial, Fadlallah réplique que « les motivations du Hizb ne sont pas confessionnelles, mais politiques. Comme il est la force politique majoritaire, ils est soucieux de ne pas rompre les équilibres politiques actuels, de crainte de se retrouver dans la posture dominante et hégémonique qui incombait jadis à la Syrie. Ce qui serait une faute politique que le Hizb ne veut éviter à tout prix… »

Un débat vif et sans détour, comme seule Beyrouth sait en accueillir, qui se nourrit de l’effervescence d’un pays avide d’échanges et de partage, loin des fractures instrumentalisées par les puissants.Et qui contraste avec un monde arabe trop longtemps plombé par les pensée unique.