fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Lebanon: The CEO of the Central Bank suspected by Switzerland of aggravated money laundering

24 January 2021 News   25863  

In January 2020, the Lebanese judiciary requested legal aid from Switzerland concerning ‘suspicious’ money transfers. In January 2021, it was the turn of the Swiss justice system to apply to Lebanon concerning a possible embezzlement of funds “to the detriment of the Central Bank of Lebanon”.

By Ian Hamel

Since 17 October 2019, the Lebanese have been subject to very strict restrictions by banks to withdraw money. This has not prevented the wealthiest from continuing to transfer their savings to Switzerland. According to official figures, between 17 October 2019 and 14 January 2020, 2.376 billion dollars went to Geneva, Lugano or Zurich. Unofficially, however, it is estimated that 4 billion were transferred abroad, despite very strict restrictions on remittances outside the country. In January 2020, the Lebanese justice system sent an international rogatory commission to Bern asking for “legal aid” for these “suspicious” transfers. Admittedly, in the last year, practically nothing has happened. In the spring of 2020, a Swiss parliamentarian was even told that “the conditions had not been met for activating extraordinary measures to freeze the funds of Lebanese officials”. Indeed, even though Switzerland has committed itself to no longer hiding behind banking secrecy, it often demands an impressive mass of documents to block accounts.

Transfer of $400 million  

Has the situation suddenly unblocked? It is now the turn of the Swiss judiciary to request mutual legal assistance in Beirut, announcing that the Federal Prosecutor’s Office had opened an investigation for “aggravated money laundering in connection with a possible embezzlement of funds to the detriment of the Central Bank of Lebanon”. To be precise, the Swiss investigation concerns the governor of the Bank, Riad Salameh, his brother Raja Salameh, and his assistant Marianne Houwayek. Riad Salameh, former banker of Merrill Lynch, has been at the head of the Central Bank of Lebanon since 1993. “The collapse of the financial system has undermined his reputation as a pillar of stability,” Reuters said, adding that he has even become one of the bête noire of the Lebanese. Apparently the Lebanese judiciary has not dragged its feet to respond to the demands of the Public Prosecutor’s Office of the Confederation (MPC). As announced in L’Orient-Le jour in its 22 January edition: “Swiss request for legal assistance: Salameh heard by Oueidate”. Ghassan Oueidate being the Attorney General of Lebanon.

What do we reproach the boss of the Central Bank of Lebanon and his relatives? Riad Salameh, his brother Raja Salameh, and Marianne Houwayek, advisor to Riad Salameh, are allegedly suspected of having transferred 400 million dollars to Switzerland. Does this sum come from the Central Bank itself or from structures linked to the Bank? The Lebanese press points out that the Central Bank owns, for example, Middle East Airlines, the national airline company. In his defense, Riad Salameh, citing “unfounded information”, reportedly replied to the prosecutor that there had been “no transfer of funds from BDL accounts”. In fact, it was only a transfer of $240 million dating back to 2002 from personal accounts “to finance a company founded with his brother”. Would the governor be so well remunerated that he could have lent such a sum to his dear brother?

Hezbollah money?

Why this brutal acceleration of the Swiss and Lebanese justice system, which has a reputation for taking its time? According to our sources, it is not impossible that the United States has entered the dance. It is not so much the money of the Lebanese fraudsters that worries Washington, but the economies of Hezbollah. But can we imagine that Hezbollah could entrust its assets to the Central Bank of Lebanon?

However, one should not have too many illusions about the return to Beirut of the money that would have been embezzled. As proof: the millions stashed in Switzerland by the former Tunisian dictator and his clan have still not made it back to Tunis.

Liban : Le patron de la Banque centrale soupçonné par la Suisse de blanchiment d’argent aggravé



En janvier 2020, la justice libanaise demandait l’aide judiciaire de la Suisse concernant des transferts d’argent « suspects ». En janvier 2021, c’est au tour de la justice suisse de s’adresser au Liban concernant un éventuel détournement de fonds « au détriment de la Banque centrale du Liban ».

Par Ian Hamel, à Berne

Depuis le 17 octobre 2019, les Libanais sont soumis à de très sévères restrictions de la part des banques pour retirer de l’argent. Cela n’a pas empêché les plus fortunés de continuer à transférer leurs économies en Suisse. Selon les chiffres officiels, entre le 17 octobre 2019 et le 14 janvier 2020, 2,376 milliards de dollars ont pris le chemin de Genève, Lugano ou Zurich. Mais officieusement, ce serait quatre milliards qui auraient été virés à l’étranger, malgré des restrictions très strictes sur les transferts de fonds en dehors du pays. La justice libanaise a adressé en janvier 2020 une commission rogatoire internationale à Berne lui demandant son « aide judiciaire » sur ces transferts « suspects ». Mais, il faut bien le reconnaître, depuis un an, il ne s’est pratiquement rien passé. Au printemps 2020, il a même été répondu à un parlementaire suisse que « les conditions n’étaient pas remplies pour activer des mesures extraordinaires de blocage de fonds de responsables libanais ». En effet, même si la Suisse s’est engagé à ne plus se cacher derrière le secret bancaire, elle réclame souvent une masse impressionnante de documents pour bloquer des comptes.

Transfert de 400 millions de dollars  

La situation s’est-elle débloquée brusquement ? C’est au tour de la justice suisse de demander l’entraide judiciaire à Beyrouth, annonçant que le parquet fédéral avait ouvert une enquête pour « blanchiment d’argent aggravé en relation avec un éventuel détournement de fonds au détriment de la Banque centrale du Liban ». Pour être précis, l’enquête suisse concerne le gouverneur de la Banque, Riad Salameh, son frère Raja Salameh, et son assistante Marianne Houwayek. Riad Salameh, ancien banquier de Merrill Lynch, est à la tête de la Banque centrale du Liban depuis 1993. « L’effondrement du système financier a ébranlé sa réputation de pilier de la stabilité », souligne Reuters, il serait même devenu l’une des bêtes noires des Libanais. Apparemment la justice libanaise n’a pas traînée les pieds pour répondre aux demandes du Ministère public de la Confédération (MPC). Comme l’annonce L’Orient-Le jour dans son édition du 22 janvier : « Demande suisse d’entraide judiciaire : Salameh entendu par Oueidate ».  Ghassan Oueidate étant le procureur général du Liban.

Que reproche-t-on au patron de la Banque centrale du Liban et à ses proches ? Riad Salameh, son frère Raja Salameh et Marianne Houwayek, conseillère de Riad Salameh, seraient soupçonnés d’avoir transféré 400 millions de dollars en Suisse. Cette somme vient-elle de la Banque centrale elle-même ou de structures liées à la Banque ? La presse libanaise rappelle que la Banque centrale possède par exemple la Middle East Airlines, la compagnie aérienne nationale. Pour sa défense, Riad Salameh, évoquant des « informations infondées », aurait répondu au procureur qu’il n’y avait eu « aucun transfert de fonds des comptes de la BDL ». Il ne s’agirait, en fait, que d’un transfert de 240 millions de dollars remontant à 2002 depuis des comptes personnels « pour financer une société fondée avec son frère ». Le gouverneur serait-il si bien rémunéré qu’il aurait pu prêter une telle somme à son cher frère ?

L’argent du Hezbollah ?

Pourquoi cette accélération brutale des justices suisse et libanaise qui ont plutôt la réputation de prendre leur temps ? Selon nos sources, il n’est pas impossible que les États-Unis soient entrés dans la danse. Ce n’est pas tant l’argent des fraudeurs libanais qui préoccupe Washington, que les économies du Hezbollah. Mais, peut-on imaginer que le Hezbollah puisse confier ses avoirs à la Banque centrale du Liban ?

Toutefois, il ne faut pas se faire trop d’illusions sur le retour à Beyrouth de l’argent qui aurait été détourné. Pour preuve : les millions planqués en Suisse par l’ancien dictateur tunisien et son clan n’ont toujours pas pris le chemin de Tunis.