fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

USA: The Seven Post-Trump Global Challenges

3 February 2021 Expertises   15467  

Christian Malard
Christian Malard

After 4 years of Trumpism, with their succession of repetitive tweets, fads, unpredictabilities, inconsistencies, the new American president should be called Hercules Biden, as the files that Donald Trump left him, in foreign policy, are so many colossal challenges to be taken up. These files are named: Iran, Russia, Turkey, China, North Korea, Afghanistan & Israeli-Palestinian conflict.


1- IRAN

It will be an issue that is all the more difficult to deal with as the Iranians and the Americans have opposing aims, hence their antagonistic rhetoric which borders on deadlock. Joe Biden can, at best, say to the Iranians: We are going back to the July 2015 accord, but on the condition that you return to strict compliance with your commitments. But we can doubt that this is enough. Because the Iranians, masters of blackmail, are now demanding the “lifting of all American sanctions, before any resumption of discussions”. Which will be difficult for the United States to accept.

The Iranians want to make the Americans pay a high price. They do not forgive them for leaving the agreement in May 2018. And for the rest, they refuse to meet the demand not only American, but also European, to associate any negotiation of a new agreement with stopping their ballistic missile program and their expansionist policy in the Middle East.

The ultra-conservatives, linked to Supreme Leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, who hold virtually all the levers of power, lead the dance and are hostile to the option of a simple return to square one of the Vienna agreement.

What follows will undoubtedly be worrying, as the Iranians will take advantage of the current deadlock to speed up their nuclear program, by enriching uranium to 20%, by producing more uranium metal, which is an essential component of nuclear weapons. They have also just continued their violation of the May 2019 agreement, admitting, according to the IAEA, having produced in one month 17 kg of uranium enriched to 20% and, no doubt, they will go as far as question the IAEA inspections.

The height of duplicity was recently reached when Iranian Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif declared that “Iran has so far respected the nuclear deal”. Antony Blinken, the new US Secretary of State, is not fooled. He is right to say that “Iran has stopped honoring its commitments on several fronts and that if it does get back on track, it will take time to verify that it is meeting its obligations. ”

We are therefore far from appeasement! The difficulties will, on the contrary, increase, because Iran is supported, economically and militarily, by the two great powers that are Russia and China, which have just signed a strategic partnership with Iran of significant of 25 years. Enough to lead Joe Biden to toughen up his tone against Vladimir Putin, to whom Donald Trump displayed, strangely, blind benevolence.

2- RUSSIA

Vladimir Putin was able to take advantage of Donald Trump’s amateurism in foreign policy to influence and even manipulate him. With Joe Biden, the tone will change.

While declaring himself ready, like Vladimir Poutine, to extend, for 5 years, the START treaty on the reduction of their respective nuclear arsenals, Joe Biden put his finger on the subjects which annoy: Russian interference in the American presidential elections of 2016 and 2020, the treatment inflicted on the main Russian opponent, Alexei Navalny, the possible Russian financing of the Afghan Taliban to incite them to kill American soldiers.

In short, when Vladimir Putin declares that he and Joe Biden will take responsibility for maintaining the security and stability of the world, those are fine words. We must now take action to avoid any confrontation.

3- TURKEY

Turkey, which is NATO’s southern flank, poses a serious problem, due to Erdogan’s duplicity of wanting to have one foot in the Transatlantic alliance and another with Vladimir Putin.

With the departure of Donald Trump, Erdogan loses a powerful ally that he knew how to influence and manipulate, as Vladimir Putin did. With Joe Biden, the relationship will be more frontal, even if the American President does not forget that the Turkish army is the second largest army, after that of the United States, in NATO. And that America has several hundred missiles with nuclear warheads on Turkish soil.

The new US president will still have to set the record straight and ask Erdogan to clarify his position. Especially since the Europeans, marked by the four years of the Trump administration, added to the disappointments of the Obama era, are increasingly seeking to develop a European “strategic autonomy”, while strengthening NATO in the face of Russia and China.

4- CHINA

China and its iron helmsman, XI Jin Ping, worry Joe Biden. They are thirsty for power and have obvious hegemonic inclinations. China wants to become the world’s largest economy and supplant the United States, the world’s largest power, since the end of the 19th century.

Beijing is conquering Asia and Africa, thanks to their “New Silk Road” project. A project that also allows it to establish itself in Europe, by helping faltering economies, such as those of Greece and Italy.

XI Jin Ping clearly hammers out his intentions: “I want to lay the foundations for a future where we gain initiative and dominate”. The Chinese President can boast today of being at the head of the only country to have a growth rate of 4.9% in the midst of a pandemic. He is stepping up the agreements to boost his influence and growth. In November 2020, he signed the largest free trade agreement in the world with 24 countries in the Pacific region. And in December, he signed an agreement in principle with the European Union for gigantic investments. Today, he warns Joe Biden against a new cold war and does everything to prevent him from once again uniting the West against China.

It is not surprising, in such a context, that the new US Secretary of State displays his ambitions to “reinvigorate the alliances abused by Donald Trump, to counter the threats posed by Russia, China, Iran and the United States. North Korea “.

5- NORTH KOREA

In North Korea, Kim Jung-un is determined to speak up, displaying a more aggressive posture towards the United States, which he sees as his greatest enemy.

Neither its chaotic economy, the pandemic, nor the international sanctions seem to affect its determination to develop its nuclear deterrent force. The new missile to be tested soon, with a range of 3,200 km, would be able to reach Guam and the Sea of ​​Japan.

A test of such scope would violate United Nations resolutions and would be all the more worrying as it could be the prelude to launching an intercontinental ballistic missile capable of reaching any part of the United States. .

For now, Kim Jung-un has imposed a moratorium on the use of this type of missile, but he could end it at any time, if it escalates. Kim Jung-un surely does not have forgot that, during his election campaign, Joe Biden called him “vermin”. It is therefore to be expected that there will be provocations and tensions between the two men in the months to come.

To avoid such a crisis, Joe Biden could adopt, against North Korea, the so-called “strategic patience” doctrine dear to Barack Obama, even if this doctrine has not been crowned with success.

6- AFGHANISTAN

In Afghanistan, the Americans could make their major strategic mistake, in terms of international politics, by withdrawing their 2,500 soldiers present there. Joe Biden wants to re-examine the agreement signed with the Taliban, by Donald Trump, in February 2020, after 19 years of war, which provides for the total withdrawal of American forces by May 2021.

This total withdrawal would come in exchange for the Taliban’s pledge not to allow terrorist groups, such as Al Qaida and ISIS, to act against Western interests from areas they control. Suffice to say that this is wishful thinking, even irresponsibility, when we know that the return to power of the Taliban will be synonymous with a return to the most medieval obscurantism.

7- ISRAELI-PALESTINIAN CONFLICT         

On this thorny issue, it will be necessary to see whether Biden will manage to distance himself from the policies of his predecessor. And how will he react to Russia’s proposal, expressed by its Minister of Foreign Affairs, Sergey Lavrov, to organize an International Conference, with the participation of Russia, the United States, the UN, the European Union, Egypt, Jordan, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia, all of which advocate a two-state solution, Israeli and Palestinian. Except that is precisely all that Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu does not want to hear about!

* International policy expert and diplomatic consultant.

USA : Les sept défis mondiaux de l’après Trump



Christian Malard (*)

Après quatre années de Trumpisme, avec leur cortège de tweets à répétition, de foucades, d’imprévisibilités, d’incohérences, le nouveau Président américain devrait s’appeler Hercule Biden, tant les dossiers qu’il a hérité de Donald Trump, en matière de politique internationale, sont autant de défis colossaux à relever. Ces dossiers ont pour noms : Iran, Russie, Turquie, Chine, Corée du Nord, Afghanistan, conflit israélo-palestinien…

1- IRAN

Ce sera un dossier d’autant plus difficile à traiter que les Iraniens et les Américains ont des visées opposées, d’où leurs discours antagonistes qui confinent au blocage. Joe Biden pourra, au mieux, dire aux Iraniens : Nous revenons dans l’accord de Juillet 2015, mais à la condition que vous reveniez au strict respect de vos engagements. Mais on peut douter que cela suffise. Car les Iraniens, maîtres du chantage, exigent désormais la « levée de toutes les sanctions Américaines, avant toute reprise des discussions ». Ce qui sera difficilement acceptable pour les États-Unis.

Les Iraniens veulent faire payer le prix fort aux Américains. Ils ne leur pardonnent pas d’être sortis de l’accord, en mai 2018. Et pour le surplus, ils refusent de satisfaire à l’exigence non seulement américaine, mais aussi européenne, d’associer toute négociation d’un nouvel accord à l‘arrêt de leur programme de missiles balistiques et leur politique expansionniste au Moyen Orient.

Les ultra-conservateurs, liés au Guide suprême, l’Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, qui détiennent pratiquement tous les leviers du pouvoir, mènent la danse et sont hostiles à l’option d’un simple retour à la case départ de l’accord de Vienne.

La suite sera sans doute inquiétante, car les Iraniens vont profiter du blocage actuel pour accélérer leur programme nucléaire, en enrichissant l’uranium à 20% et en produisant davantage d’uranium métal, qui est une composante indispensable pour l’arme nucléaire. Ils viennent d’ailleurs de poursuivre leur violation de l’accord de mai 2019, en reconnaissant, selon l’AIEA, avoir produit en un mois 17 Kg d’uranium enrichi à 20% et, sans doute, iront-ils jusqu’à remettre en cause les inspections de l’AIEA.

Le comble de la duplicité a été atteint, récemment, lorsque le ministre des Affaires Étrangères Iranien, Mohammad Javad Zarif, a déclaré que « l’Iran a respecté, jusqu’alors, l’accord sur le nucléaire » Antony Blinken, le nouveau Secrétaire d’État Américain, n’est pas dupe. Il a raison de déclarer que « l’Iran a cessé de respecter ses engagements sur plusieurs fronts et que s’il accepte de revenir dans les clous, il faudra du temps pour vérifier qu’il respecte ses obligations ».

On est donc loin de l’apaisement ! Les difficultés vont, au contraire, s’accroitre, car l’Iran est soutenu, économiquement et militairement, par les deux grandes puissances que sont la Russie et la Chine, qui viennent de signer avec l’Iran un partenariat stratégique d’une portée de 25 années. De quoi amener Joe Biden à durcir le ton à l’encontre de Vladimir Poutine, envers lequel Donald Trump affichait, bizarrement, une bienveillance aveugle.

2- RUSSIE 

Vladimir Poutine a pu profiter, de l’amateurisme de Donald Trump, en matière de politique étrangère, pour l’influencer, voire le manipuler. Avec Joe Biden, le ton va changer.

Tout en se déclarant prêt, comme Vladimir Poutine, à prolonger, pour 5 ans, le traité START sur la réduction de leurs arsenaux nucléaires respectifs, Joe Biden a mis le doigt sur les sujets qui fâchent : les ingérences russes dans les élections présidentielles américaines de 2016 et 2020, le traitement infligé au principal opposant russe, Alexeï Navalny, le possible financement russe aux Taliban afghans pour les inciter à tuer des soldats américains.

Bref, lorsque Vladimir Poutine déclare que lui-même et Joe Biden prendront leurs responsabilités pour maintenir la sécurité et la stabilité du monde, ce sont de belles paroles. Il faut, à présent, passer aux actes pour éviter toute confrontation.

3- TURQUIE

La Turquie, qui est le flanc sud de l’OTAN, pose un sérieux problème, en raison de la duplicité d’Erdogan, qui consiste à vouloir avoir un pied dans l’alliance transatlantique et un autre chez Vladimir Poutine.

Avec le départ de Donald Trump, Erdogan perd un allié de poids qu’il savait influencer, manipuler, comme le faisait Vladimir Poutine. Avec Joe Biden, les rapports seront plus frontaux, même si le Président Américain n’oublie pas que l’armée turque est la deuxième plus grande armée, après celle des États-Unis, au sein de l’OTAN. Et que l’Amérique dispose, sur le sol turc, de plusieurs centaines de missiles à têtes nucléaires.

Le nouveau président va tout de même devoir remettre les pendules à l’heure et demander à Erdogan de clarifier sa position. D’autant plus que les Européens, marqués par les quatre années de l’Administration Trump, additionnées aux déconvenues de l’ère Obama, cherchent de plus en plus a développer une « autonome stratégique » européennes, tout en renforçant l’Otan face à la Russie et la Chine.

4- CHINE

La Chine et son timonier de fer, XI Jin Ping, inquiètent Joe Biden. Ils sont assoiffés de pouvoir et ont d’évidentes velléités hégémoniques. La Chine veut devenir la première économie mondiale et supplanter les États-Unis, première puissance mondiale, depuis la fin du 19ème siècle.

Pékin est en train de conquérir l’Asie et l’Afrique, grâce à son projet de « Nouvelle Route de la Soie ». Un projet qui lui permet aussi de s’implanter en Europe, en venant en aide à des économies chancelantes, comme celles de la Grèce et de l’Italie.

XI Jin Ping martèle, clairement, ses intentions : « Je veux jeter les bases d’un avenir où nous gagnerons l’initiative et aurons la position dominante. » Le Président Chinois peut se vanter, aujourd’hui, d’être à la tête du seul pays à avoir, en pleine pandémie, un taux de croissance de 4,9%. Il multiplie les accords pour doper son influence et sa croissance. En novembre 2020, il a signé le plus vaste accord de libre-échange au monde, avec 24 pays de la région pacifique. Et en décembre, il a signé avec l’Union Européenne un accord de principe pour des investissements gigantesques. Aujourd’hui, il met en garde Joe Biden contre une nouvelle guerre froide et fait tout pour l’empêcher de ressouder, à nouveau, les Occidentaux contre la Chine.

Il n’est pas étonnant, dans un tel contexte, que le nouveau Secrétaire d’État Américain affiche ses ambitions de « revigorer les alliances malmenées par Donald Trump, pour contrer les menaces posées par la Russie, la Chine, l’Iran et la Corée du Nord ».

5- CORÉE DU NORD

En Corée du Nord, Kim Jung-un est déterminé à hausser le ton, affichant une posture plus agressive vis-à-vis des États-Unis, qu’il considère comme son plus grand ennemi.

Ni son économie chaotique, ni la pandémie, ni les sanctions internationales ne semblent affecter son acharnement à développer sa force de dissuasion nucléaire. Le nouveau missile qui sera testé prochainement, d’une portée de 3.200 kms, serait capable d’atteindre Guam et la Mer du Japon.

Un test, d’une telle portée, violerait les résolutions des Nations Unies et serait d’autant plus inquiétant qu’il pourrait être le prélude au lancement d’un missile balistique intercontinental capable d’atteindre n’importe quelle partie des États-Unis.

Pour l’instant, Kim Jung-un s’est imposé un moratoire sur l’utilisation de ce type de missiles, mais il pourrait y mettre fin à tout moment, en cas d’escalade. Kim Jung-un n’a sûrement pas oublié que, durant sa campagne électorale, Joe Biden l’a traité de « vermine ». Il faut donc s’attendre à des provocations et à des tensions entre les deux hommes, durant les mois à venir.

Pour éviter une telle crise, Joe Biden pourrait adoptera, à l’encontre de la Corée du nord, la doctrine dite de « la patience stratégique », chère à Barack Obama, même si cette doctrine n’a pas été couronnée de succès.

6- AFGHANISTAN

En Afghanistan, les Américains pourraient commettre leur erreur stratégique majeure, en matière de politique internationale, en y retirant leurs 2.500 soldats présents sur place. Joe Biden veut réexaminer l’accord signé avec les Taliban, par Donald Trump, en février 2020, après 19 ans de guerre, qui prévoit le retrait total des forces américaines, d’ici mai 2021.

Ce retrait total s’effectuerait, en échange de l’engagement des Taliban à ne pas laisser les groupes terroristes, comme al-Qaida et Daech, agir contre les intérêts occidentaux, depuis les zones qu’ils contrôlent. Autant dire que cela relève du vœu pieux, voire de l’irresponsabilité, quand on sait que le retour au pouvoir des Taliban sera synonyme d’un retour à l’obscurantisme le plus moyenâgeux .

7- CONFLIT ISRAÉLO-PALESTINIEN

Sur ce dossier épineux, il conviendra de voir si Biden parviendra à se démarquera de la politique de son prédécesseur. Et comment réagira-t-il à la proposition de la Russie, exprimée par son ministre des Affaires Étrangères, Sergueï Lavrov, d’organiser une Conférence Internationale, à laquelle prendront part la Russie, les États-Unis, l’ONU, l’Union Européenne, l’Égypte, la Jordanie, les Émirats Arabes Unis, Bahreïn et l’Arabie saoudite, qui prônent tous une solution à deux États, israélien et palestinien. Sauf que c’est précisément tout ce dont ne veut pas entendre parler le premier ministre israélien, Benyamin Netanyahou !

* Expert en politique internationale et consultant diplomatique.