Abdelhakim Belhaj: Ex-jihadist, future Turkish proconsul in Libya!



Of all the militia leaders vying for power in Libya since the fall of Gaddafi, Abdelhakim Belhaj is the most controversial. Born in 1966 in the popular district of Souq Al Jum’aa in Tripoli, he joined the ranks of the Arab mujaheddin in Afghanistan at the age of 22, where he founded the Libyan Islamic Fighting Group (LIFG) with other jihadists among his compatriots.

At the end of the anti-Soviet war, the LIFG decides to return to Libya, with the aim of overthrowing Gaddafi’s dictatorship. However, the assassination attempt that it fomented in 1994 only succeeded in slightly wounding the “Guide”. And the Group, entrenched in its strongholds in Benghazi and Derna, is repressed in blood.

Belhaj manages to flee to Sudan, where he reunites with Osama bin Laden, once known during the anti-Soviet jihad. Having become the chief emir of the LIFG, under the war name of Abdellah Saddek, Belhaj decides to ally himself with Al-Qaeda. This led him to follow the bin Laden organisation when it left Sudan for Afghanistan in 1996.

Disappeared from the radar after the attacks of September 11, 2001, the CIA found its way back to Malaysia in 2004. Arrested, he is secretly handed over to the Gaddafi regime, which incarcerated him in Abu Slim prison, where he joins several hundred of his former LIFG companions.

In 2009, a mediation in his favour was conducted by the Muslim Brotherhood. Imam Ali al-Sallabi, leader of the Libyan Muslim Brotherhood, and sheikh Yusuf al-Qaradawi, a leading figure in the Brotherhood’s “Global Office” and star preacher for the Qatari channel Al Jazeera, succeeded in convincing Saif al-Islam Gaddafi to release Abdelhakim Belhaj and his jihadist companions, following the publication by the latter of a long 417-page missive in which they denied the jihadist ideology and affirmed their renunciation of violence.

Two years later, Belhaj takes up arms again. In May 2011, he joined the anti-Gaddafi rebellion, heading the “February 17th Martyrs Brigade”. In August, after Gaddafi’s flight, he seized the capital and proclaimed himself commander of the “Tripoli Military Council”. He then set up his headquarters at the military airport of Maatiga. and reigns over the Libyan capital as an undisputed warlord.

He soon shows an unsuspected appetite for business. So much so that barely a year later, in the fall of 2012, his name appears on the list of the richest Libyans of the post-Gaddafi era and his fortune is estimated at more than 2 billion dollars!

A year later, he founded his airline al-Ajniha (the wings) and thus established a monopoly on flights to the Libyan capital: the airport of Maatiga, which he controls, has become the only operational airport since the destruction of the international airport of Tripoli.

In January 2019, Belhaj was finally caught up with justice. A British parliamentary report points to his involvement in migrant smuggling. And the Libyan public prosecutor, Siddiq Al Sour, issued a warrant against him for “abuses and war crimes”.
Cornered, Belhaj decides to move to Istanbul.

For a while, he is thought to have definitively turned to business. But he soon made a name for himself again in December 2019, when the Turkish president, Recep Tayyip Erdogan, decided to intervene militarily in Libya. Belhaj put four planes of his company al-Ajniha at the disposal of the Turkish government and installed an air bridge between Istanbul and Maaitiga airport, which remained under the control of his men. This allowed the Turks to transfer to Tripoli more than 6,000 jihadists from Syria.
In doing so, Belhaj did not only revive jihadism once again. In Erdogan’s grand design to resurrect the Ottoman Caliphate, the former head of the LIFG now dreams of himself as the Turkish proconsul of Libya!

5 dates:

1988: He founded the Libyan Islamic Fighting Group, later affiliated to al-Qaeda.
2004: Arrested by the CIA in Malaysia, he is handed over to the Gaddafi regime.
2011: At the head of the “February 17th Martyrs Brigade”, he seized the Libyan capital and proclaimed himself commander of the “Tripoli Military Council”.
2012: His fortune is estimated at over $2 billion.
2019: Based in Istanbul, he puts at the disposal of the Turkish government four planes of its airline company al-Ajniha, to transfer to Tripoli more than 6000 Syrian jihadists. ISBN

Abdelhakim Belhaj : ex-djihadiste, futur proconsul turc en Libye !



De tous les chefs des milices qui se disputent le pouvoir en Libye, depuis la chute de Kadhafi, Abdelhakim Belhaj est le plus controversé. Né en 1966, dans le quartier populaire de Souk al-Joumâa, à Tripoli, il rejoint, à 22 ans, les rangs des moudjahidines arabes en Afghanistan, où il fonde avec d’autres djihadistes, parmi ses compatriotes, le Groupe Islamique Combattant Libyen (GICL).

A la fin de guerre anti soviétique, le GICL décide de retourner en Libye, avec pour objectif de renverser la dictature de Kadhafi. Mais, la tentative d’assassinat qu’il fomente, en 1994, ne parvient qu’à blesser légèrement le « Guide ». Et le Groupe, retranché dans ses fiefs de Benghazi et de Derna, est réprimé dans le sang.

Belhaj parvient à prendre la fuite vers le Soudan, où il renoue avec Oussama Ben Laden, connu jadis lors du djihad anti soviétique. Devenu l’émir en chef du GICL, sous le nom de guerre d’Abdellah Saddek, Belhaj décide de s’allier à al-Qaida. Ce qui le conduit à suivre l’organisation Ben Laden, lorsqu’elle quitte le Soudan vers l’Afghanistan, en 1996.

Disparu des radars après les attaques du 11 septembre 2001, la CIA retrouve sa trace en Malaisie, en 2004. Arrêté, il est secrètement remis au Régime de Kadhafi, qui l’incarcère à la prison d’Abou Slim, où il rejoint plusieurs centaines des ses ex-compagnons du GICL.

En 2009, une médiation en sa faveur est menée par les Frères musulmans. L’imam Ali al-Sellabi, chef de file des Frères musulmans libyens, et le cheikh Youssef al-Qaradaoui, figure emblématique du « Bureau mondial » de la Confrérie et prédicateur vedette de la chaîne qatarie al-Jazeera, parviennent à convaincre Saif al-Islam Kadhafi de libérer Abdelhakim Belhaj et ses compagnons djihadistes, suite à la publication par ses derniers d’une longue missive de 417 pages dans laquelle ils reniaient l’idéologie djihadiste et affirmaient renoncer à la violence.

Deux ans plus tard, Belhaj reprend les armes. En mai 2011, il rejoint la rébellion anti Kadhafi, à la tête de la « brigade du 17 février ». En aout, il s’empare de la capitale, suite à la fuite de Kadhafi, et s’autoproclame commandant du « Conseil militaire de Tripoli ». Il installe, alors, son quartier général au sein de l’aéroport militaire de Maâitiga. Et règne sur la capitale libyenne en seigneur de guerre incontesté.

Très vite, il montre un appétit insoupçonné pour l’affairisme. Tant et si bien qu’à peine une année plus tard, à l’automne 2012, son nom figure sur la liste des libyens les plus riches de l’ère post Kadhafi et sa fortune est estimée à plus de 2 milliards de dollars !

Un an plus tard, il fonde sa compagnie aérienne al-Ajniha (les ailes) et instaure un monopole de fait sur les vols vers la capitale libyenne : l’aéroport de Maâitiga, qu’il contrôle, est devenu le seul aéroport opérationnel, depuis la destruction de l’aéroport international de Tripoli.

En janvier 2019, Belhaj a fini par être rattrapé par la justice. Un rapport parlementaire britannique pointe son implication dans le trafic de migrants. Et le procureur de la république libyenne, Siddiq al-Sour, lance à son encontre un mandant d’amener pour « exactions et crimes de guerre ».

Acculé, Belhaj décide, alors, de s’installer à Istanbul. On le croit, un moment, définitivement reconverti dans les affaires. Mais, il ne tarda pas à refaire parler de lui, en décembre 2019, lorsque le président truc, Recep Tayyip Erdogan, décide d’intervenir militairement en Libye. Belhaj met à la disposition du gouvernement turc quatre avions de sa compagnie al-Ajniha et installe un pont aérien entre Istanbul et l’aéroport de Maâitiga, resté sous le contrôle de ses hommes. Ce qui a permis aux turcs de transférer vers Tripoli plus de 6000 djihadistes en provenance Syrie.

Ce faisant, Belhaj n’a pas seulement renoué, une nouvelle fois, avec le djihadisme. Dans le grand dessein d’Erdogan visant à ressusciter le califat ottoman, l’ancien chef du GICL se rêve désormais en proconsul turc de la libye !

5 dates :  

– 1988 : Il fonde le Groupe Islamique Combattant Libyen, affilié ensuite à al-Qaida.

– 2004 : Arrêté par la CIA en Malaisie, il est remis au Régime de Kadhafi.

– 2011 : À la tête de la « brigade du 17 février », il s’empare de la capitale libyenne et s’autoproclame commandant du « Conseil militaire de Tripoli ».

– 2012 : Sa fortune est estimée à plus de 2 milliards de dollars.

– 2019 : Installé à Istanbul, il met à la disposition du gouvernement turc quatre avions de sa compagnie aérienne al-Ajniha, pour transférer vers Tripoli plus de 6000 djihadistes syriens.