fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Excerpts from the Book: “Muslim Brotherhood, the Closed Circle” By Lorenzo Vidino

28 January 2022 Investigations   33814  

While the cases analyzed in this book clearly demonstrate common patterns of discontent among the former Western Brotherhood members profiled, one should not draw generalizations. It is difficult to determine if they constitute outliers or if their stories are indicative of a larger phenomenon of dissatisfaction inside the movement. Is the Brotherhood in the West in crisis, as some argue?1 Should the movement’s success or failure be judged by the growth and the stability of its membership? Or, since the Brotherhood is a movement seeking to mobilize the masses but willing to open itself only to few selected members, should success be assessed in another way, such as ability to exert influence within Western Muslim communities and Western elite circles? These questions cannot be answered easily. Moreover, irrespective of the metrics employed in assessing the Brotherhood, the answer is likely to differ from country to country. Yet it is clear that the 2010s have been an earth-shattering decade for the global Muslim Brotherhood movement and, consequently, for the Brotherhood in the West as well. The primary driver of change has been the so-called Arab Spring, with all its complex and still unfolding dynamics, which has had a huge impact on Brotherhood organizations in the East and the West.

While the experience and presence in the West of many members had a major impact on various national branches of the Brotherhood during the Arab Spring, the opposite is also true: the Arab Spring significantly affected Western Brotherhood milieus. And while it is difficult and definitely pre- mature to assess what this impact has been, the negative effects seem to outweigh the positive.

During the early days of the Arab Spring, the positive energy emanating from Tunisia, Egypt, and other Arab countries galvanized the Western Brothers. It also led many in the West, from policy makers to Muslim communities, to see the Brotherhood as a positive model to embrace and as the wave of the future. Even though the developments in the Arab world quickly dispelled that optimism, the connections made by the Brothers during those years with a variety of Western interlocutors, from high-ranking government officials to those in the media, from human rights organizations to large foundations, constitute an important asset that can provide leverage in the future.

Yet there appear to be many negative repercussions of the Arab Spring for the Western Brotherhood (even more complex and arguably different from country to country than those for the Brotherhood in the Arab world). First, the departure of so many experienced and charismatic leaders for their countries of origin left many Western Brotherhood milieus depleted of human capital. A document published in 2013 by the Cordoba Foundation, a prominent organization of the British Brotherhood milieu, argues: “Prior to the Arab Spring, there was a political apparatus in the UK regulating and coordinating, albeit quite loosely, the work of the Islamic movements but that is no longer the case although the need of such an apparatus now is more than ever.” While the phenomenon affected various countries differently, a similar analysis can be applied to several.

Arguably even more serious is the effect on younger Western activists of the return to their home countries of so many leaders of the Western Brotherhood’s milieu. While never denying their understandable passion for developments in their countries of origin, since the early 1990s most Western Brotherhood pioneers had expressed a keen interest in Islam in the West, often portraying themselves as the de facto representatives of Western Muslims. Yet at the first opportunity, many of these leaders left the West for good, and those who stayed devoted all their energies to events abroad. Seeing their actions, many younger activists, most of whom are Western-born and seek to prioritize developments in the West, felt some- what betrayed. A good number of them, whether they were directly involved in organizations of the milieu or simply sympathizers, were left disenchanted with both the milieu’s leaders and its ideology. Arguably, these developments have decreased the Brothers’ popularity both among Western Islamists and in the larger Western Muslim population.

In some cases, these often-overlapping dynamics of human capital depletion and “abandonment” involve not first-generation Brotherhood pioneers but individuals who have grown up in the West and were touted as future leaders of Muslim communities in their adoptive countries. A tell- ing case is that of Osama al Saghir, the son of a prominent al Nahda leader. The al Saghirs moved to Italy when Osama was eleven, and his father ran one of Rome’s most influential mosques (al Huda, in the Centocelle neighborhood). In 2006, at age twenty-two, al Saghir was elected president of the Young Muslims of Italy, the youth organization of the Italian Brotherhood milieu that Khalid Chaouki had headed earlier.

In that decade, thanks to his intelligence and charming personality, al Saghir became a fairly well-known public figure, routinely interviewed by Italian media on various issues related to Islam and Muslim integration in the country. He was particularly vocal on the issue of changing the country’s famously restrictive citizenship laws, which prevent most individuals who do not have Italian ancestry from becoming citizens even if they were born or have spent decades in the country. In 2009 al Saghir gave an interview in which he warned about the consequences of such policies, even linking them to jihadist radicalization. “The majority of young Muslims have grown up in Italy,” he said, “but very few have obtained Italian citizenship and for this reason have a distorted view of democracy. I fear the risk of a serious identitarian turn among young Muslims, because if one does not belong to a nation, then he belongs to a religious community, where it is easier to pay attention to some madman who talks about Italians being infidels, or to political groups that reject democracy.”
In 2011 al Saghir received Italian citizenship through naturalization. Yet in that very same year he decided to run for the Tunisian elections as one of al Nahda’s candidates in Italy. He, together with the daughter of another Rome-based Nahda leader, was elected, confirming al Nahda’s dominance among the Tunisian electorate in Italy. Some among both Italian opinion makers and the Muslim community have accused al Saghir of hypocrisy – first decrying the potential lack of attachment to Italy a restrictive citizenship policy might trigger, and then running in Tunisian elections (shortly after receiving Italian citizenship) as soon as the unexpected opportunity arose.

But, more broadly, it can be argued that the deepest impact on Western Brotherhood milieus came from the outcome of the Arab Spring – and particularly the failure of the Brotherhood in Egypt and, to a lesser degree, Tunisia to retain the support of large segments of the population and govern effectively. Many Brothers, in the East as well as in the West, have reacted to the downfall of the Brotherhood (irrespective of how they inter- pret the vicissitudes that led to it) with introspection often bordering on self-doubt. The statement from one of the spiritual leaders of the Western Brotherhood, Rashid Ghannouchi, that after the experience of the Arab Spring, his movement has “left political Islam” to “enter Muslim democracy” – a shift whose contours are uncertain but that clearly indicates doubt in the traditional dogmas of Brotherhood-style Islamism – reveals the massive soul-searching taking place within the milieu.

For many Western Muslim activists close to the Brotherhood, the Arab Spring has been a major blow to their intellectual confidence and has triggered reexamination, “the opportunity to reconsider simplistic ideological perspectives that ‘Islam is the solution.’ ” As Amghar and Khadiyatoulah cogently put it, “The all-encompassing approach of the MB – the idea of an Islamic panacea as a solution to all the problems for Muslims – clashes with the concrete experiences of the MB and is revealed to be ineffective. The European Brotherhood movement therefore suffers from the paradoxes of both its pre – and post – Arab Spring ideology.” Similarly, Dilwar Hussain, a prominent British Muslim activist with years of experience in Islamist milieus and a longtime proponent of liberalizing the movement in the West, argues that “a more open and embracing vision of who we are, and what Islam means to us, will be realised [once] there is a shift towards a post-Islamist paradigm among activists in the West.” “But can this happen?” asks Hussain. “I would argue that it must.”

[…]

The Arab Spring has brought many opportunities and arguably an even greater number of challenges to the Muslim Brotherhood in the West. It is too early to fully assess all the implications of these tumultuous years and see where the Western Brotherhood is headed. But it fair to say that just as is true of the Brotherhood in the Arab world, there is a Western Brotherhood before the Arab Spring and one after it. This distinction is accentuated by another completely coincidental yet extremely important factor: the widespread generational change – occurring somewhat differently in different countries – that the Western Brotherhood is currently undergoing, as mostly Western-born activists are joining, and in some cases replacing, the first generation of pioneers at the helm of the milieu’s organizations.

At this critical juncture, various dynamics appear to be emerging. On one hand, the Western Brotherhood seems to have lost the magnetic appeal it had arguably exercised on many. The failures of the Arab Spring have created ample self-doubt, and the actions of the Western Brothers them- selves have supplied additional reasons for dwindling enthusiasm. Over the past decades, as we have seen, the Western Brotherhood has put a priority on becoming trusted interlocutors of Western governments and elites – in many cases achieving that goal. But in order to do so, it has inevitably been forced to compromise some of its principles and smooth some of its rough edges. As Samir Amghar and Fall Khadiyatoulah put it, “Faced with the reality of Muslim faith management, [Western Brotherhood] activists lost their initial utopian impetus and no longer challenged the state framework or the dominant political system.”1 Essentially, not all Brotherhood activists clearly see an Islamic light at the end of the tunnel of the countless interfaith meetings, fund-raising banquets, media sensitivity seminars, and myriad other activities to which the organization devotes most of its energies. Some are also puzzled by tactics such as alliances with feminist or LGBT organizations that, while internally explained as useful means to an end, nonetheless seem to substantially deviate from what is Islamically acceptable.

As a result, Western Brotherhood organizations suffer in competition with Salafists, whose more uncompromising approach has attracted many conservative Muslims who previously would have gravitated toward the Brothers. In the words of a Belgian Brotherhood activist, “Ever since we decided to be more consensual on certain religious issues and ever since we began discussing issues with public authorities, some of our members could no longer recognize themselves in our choices and we have lost quite a lot of people.”
At the same time, many Western-born Muslims are increasingly find- ing alternative platforms for mobilizing on the basis of their Muslim identity. Many young Muslim activists, whether they started their trajectory in organizations belonging to the Western Brotherhood milieu or not, are no longer constrained by the group’s monopoly on Muslim identity and freely operate in the mainstream. In fact, Western Muslim activists who have points of contact with Brotherhood milieus are often active outside the group’s structure and achieve high positions in Western political par- ties and civil society, particularly on the left. The closeness of the con- tacts between those freelancers and the Brotherhood milieu depends on the specific case, but it is clear that the Brothers increasingly are no longer the only avenue for Muslims seeking to be politically engaged in the West.

Though all these dynamics and the stories of the individuals profiled in this book (irrespective of how representative they are of a broader trend) suggest that the Western Brotherhood is weakening, there are reasons to think that the opposite might also be true. More entrenched in Western society and increasingly run by new members – often scions of prominent Brotherhood families with strong ties to one another – Western Brother- hood organizations can be seen as simply entering a new and even more successful phase of their history in the West. On this account, the new leadership now understands how to smooth some rough edges and better present itself, making it more likely to achieve its short- and long-term goals. New blood and more refined tactics thus may make the group more effective.

One core issue that will determine the future of the Brotherhood in the West is whether the new leadership will retain the movement’s core ideology. Some argue that we are entering in an era of post-Ikhwanism, and that the Western Brothers, on the pattern of European Communists in the 1970s and 1980s, will eventually shed the most radical aspects of their ideology and melt into the system. Others disagree. Ahmed Akkari, for example, believes that “the history of the Brotherhood clearly shows that despite divisions and contradictions, the Brotherhood core always managed to bring in new supporters and keep the conservative ideological line intact; when some parts of the movement become too estranged to the ideological core and even break free, the old guard always manages to restructure the organizational top and middle layer to stay supportive.”

It is impossible at this stage to predict in what direction the Western Brotherhood will go, whether it will melt into the system or continue to work within it but with the idea of eventually changing it. Indeed, there are indicators that point in both directions: perhaps different individuals and organizations belonging to the network will take opposite trajectories over time. Irrespective of these developments, it appears clear that for years to come, the Brotherhood will remain a crucial actor in the future of Islam in the West.

fbpx
 
 

 

Extraits du Livre : ‘‘Frères musulmans, le Cercle Restreint’’ de Lorenzo Vidino



Si les témoignages examinés dans le présent ouvrage mettent clairement en évidence un mécontentement commun d’anciens membres des Frères musulmans en Occident, toute généralisation est à proscrire. En effet, il est difficile de déterminer si ces témoignages constituent des cas marginaux, ou s’ils sont révélateurs d’un phénomène d’insatisfaction plus large au sein de la Confrérie. Le glas a-t-il sonné pour les Frères musulmans en Occident, comme certains le prétendent ? Faut-il vraiment évaluer le succès ou l’échec du mouvement sur la base de ses effectifs toujours croissants ? Ou, puisque la Confrérie est un mouvement qui tente de mobiliser les masses tout en ne s’ouvrant qu’à quelques membres triés sur le volet, son succès devrait-il être évalué d’une autre manière, comme sa capacité à exercer une influence au sein des communautés musulmanes occidentales et des cercles d’élite occidentaux ? Ces questions ne trouvent pas facilement de réponse. En outre, quels que soient les critères utilisés pour évaluer la Confrérie, les réponses varieront probablement d’un pays à l’autre. Pourtant, il est clair que les années 2010 ont marqué un tournant décisif pour le mouvement mondial des Frères musulmans et, par conséquent, pour les Frères en Occident également. Ce tournant s’explique en grande partie par les évènements du « Printemps arabe », dont la dynamique complexe et toujours évolutive a exercé un impact considérable sur les organisations des Frères en Orient et en Occident.

Si la présence et l’expérience en Occident de nombreux membres des Frères musulmans ont eu un impact majeur sur les différentes branches nationales de la Confrérie pendant le Printemps arabe, on peut également affirmer que le Printemps arabe a considérablement bouleversé les milieux des Frères musulmans en Occident. En outre, bien qu’il soit difficile, et certainement prématuré, d’évaluer cet aspect, on constate à l’heure actuelle davantage d’effets négatifs que positifs.

Pendant les premiers jours du Printemps arabe, le dynamisme qu’ont connu la Tunisie, l’Égypte et d’autres pays arabes a galvanisé les Frères occidentaux. Il a également incité de nombreuses personnes en Occident, aussi bien des décideurs politiques que des membres des communautés musulmanes, à considérer les Frères musulmans comme un modèle positif représentant la voie de l’avenir. Même si l’évolution de la situation dans le monde arabe a rapidement dissipé cet optimisme, les liens établis par les Frères avec divers interlocuteurs occidentaux (tels que des hauts fonctionnaires, des médias, des organisations de défense des Droits de l’Homme, des grandes fondations, etc.) pendant cette période constituent un atout précieux qu’ils pourront exploiter par la suite.

Cependant, il semble que le Printemps arabe ait en fait de nombreuses répercussions négatives sur les Frères musulmans en Occident. Plus complexes que celles constatées dans le monde arabe, on peut aussi penser que ces répercussions négatives varient d’un pays à l’autre. Tout d’abord, le départ de tant de dirigeants expérimentés et charismatiques à destination de leurs pays d’origine a entraîné l’épuisement du capital humain de nombreuses branches de la Confrérie occidentale. Selon un document publié en 2013 par la Fondation Cordoba, une organisation importante de la Confrérie britannique : « Avant le Printemps arabe, il existait au Royaume-Uni un appareil politique qui réglementait et coordonnait, quoiqu’avec souplesse, les activités des mouvements islamiques. Toutefois, ce n’est aujourd’hui plus le cas, alors même que la nécessité d’un tel appareil est plus que jamais d’actualité ». Bien que le phénomène ait touché divers pays de manière différente, une même analyse peut s’appliquer à plusieurs d’entre eux.

Une conséquence sans doute encore plus grave réside dans l’effet que le retour dans leur pays d’origine de tant de dirigeants du milieu de la Confrérie occidentale a eu sur les jeunes militants occidentaux. S’ils ont toujours manifesté un engouement compréhensible pour les évènements se déroulant dans leurs pays d’origine, la plupart des pionniers des Frères en Occident avaient néanmoins exprimé, depuis le début des années 1990, un vif intérêt pour l’islam en Occident, se présentant souvent comme les représentants de facto des musulmans occidentaux. Pourtant, à la première occasion, nombre de ces dirigeants ont quitté l’Occident pour de bon, et ceux qui sont restés ont consacré toute leur énergie à l’organisation d’évènements à l’étranger. Devant ces agissements, un bon nombre de jeunes militants – pour la plupart nés en Occident, et désireux de donner la priorité à des activités menées dans cette région – ont éprouvé un sentiment de trahison. Beaucoup d’entre eux, qu’ils soient directement impliqués dans des organisations du milieu ou de simples partisans, ont été déçus à la fois par l’attitude des dirigeants des Frères et par leur idéologie. Cette situation a vraisemblablement contribué à faire reculer la popularité des Frères, tant parmi les islamistes occidentaux que dans la population musulmane occidentale en général.

Dans certains cas, ces phénomènes contigus d’épuisement et d’« abandon » du capital humain ne concernent pas les pionniers appartenant à la première génération des Frères musulmans, mais des personnes ayant grandi en Occident et qui avaient été présentées comme les futurs dirigeants des communautés musulmanes dans leurs pays d’adoption. Un exemple révélateur est celui d’Oussama el-Saghir, fils d’un éminent dirigeant d’Al Nahda. La famille El-saghir s’est installée en Italie lorsqu’Oussama avait onze ans ; son père dirigeait alors l’une des mosquées les plus influentes de Rome (Al-huda, dans le quartier de Centocelle). En 2006, à l’âge de vingt-deux ans, Oussama el-Saghir a accédé à la présidence des Jeunes musulmans d’Italie, l’organisation de jeunes de la branche italienne des Frères musulmans que Khalid Chaouki avait dirigée auparavant.

Pendant les dix années qui ont suivi, El-saghir est devenu, grâce à son intelligence et à son charisme, une figure publique de premier plan, régulièrement interviewé par les médias italiens sur diverses questions liées à l’islam et à l’intégration des musulmans dans le pays. Il a tout particulièrement exprimé son avis sur la nécessité de réviser les fameuses lois restrictives du pays en matière de naturalisation, qui empêchent la plupart des personnes qui n’ont pas d’ascendance italienne d’obtenir la citoyenneté, même si elles sont nées ou ont passé plusieurs décennies dans le pays. En 2009, au cours d’un entretien, El-saghir a émis une mise en garde contre les conséquences de ces lois, établissant même un lien avec la radicalisation djihadiste. « La majorité des jeunes musulmans [en Italie] ont grandi dans ce pays », a-t-il déclaré, « cependant, rares sont ceux à avoir obtenu la citoyenneté italienne ; c’est la raison pour laquelle ces jeunes ont une perception erronée de la démocratie. Je crains que cette situation n’entraîne une grave dérive identitaire chez les jeunes musulmans, car si l’on n’appartient pas à une nation, on appartient à une communauté religieuse, et l’on court alors davantage le risque que ces jeunes tombent sous l’emprise d’un fanatique pour qui les Italiens sont des mécréants, ou de groupes politiques qui rejettent la démocratie ».

En 2011, El-saghir a finalement obtenu la citoyenneté italienne par naturalisation. Pourtant, la même année, il a décidé de se présenter aux élections tunisiennes comme l’un des candidats d’Al Nahda en Italie. Il a remporté ces élections avec la fille d’un autre dirigeant d’Al Nahda basé à Rome, confirmant ainsi la domination du parti au sein de l’électorat tunisien en Italie. Parmi les décideurs italiens et la communauté musulmane, certains ont accusé El-saghir d’hypocrisie, lui reprochant d’avoir d’abord déploré le manque potentiel d’attachement à l’Italie à cause d’une politique de citoyenneté restrictive, avant de se présenter aux élections tunisiennes dès que l’occasion – inattendue – s’est présentée.

D’une manière plus générale, on peut toutefois affirmer que l’impact le plus profond sur les milieux de la Confrérie occidentale découle des résultats du Printemps arabe et, en particulier, de l’incapacité des Frères musulmans en Égypte ainsi que, dans une moindre mesure, en Tunisie à conserver le soutien de larges segments de la population et à gouverner efficacement. De nombreux Frères, tant en Orient qu’en Occident, ont réagi à la débâcle de la Confrérie (quelle que soit leur interprétation des vicissitudes qui l’ont provoquée) par un repli sur soi, voire même par une remise en question. La déclaration de l’un des guides spirituels des Frères occidentaux, Rachid Ghannouchi, selon laquelle, après l’expérience du Printemps arabe, son mouvement a « quitté l’islam politique » pour « entrer dans la démocratie musulmane » – un changement dont les contours sont incertains, mais qui indique clairement un doute dans les dogmes traditionnels de l’islamisme de la Confrérie – traduit les remises en question induites dans le milieu.
Le Printemps arabe a mis à mal la perception intellectuelle de nombreux militants musulmans occidentaux proches des Frères musulmans, et a suscité chez eux une remise en question, « l’occasion de reconsidérer certaines approches idéologiques réductrices qui voudraient que “l’islam soit la réponse à tout” ». Comme le disent avec justesse Samir Amghar et Fall Khadiyatoulah, « l’approche globale des Frères musulmans – l’idée d’une nation islamique comme solution à tous les problèmes des musulmans – se heurte à la réalité des Frères et se révèle inefficace. Les Frères européens sont donc victimes des contradictions résultant de leur idéologie d’avant et d’après le Printemps arabe ». En ce sens, Dilwar Hussain, un éminent activiste musulman britannique doté d’une longue expérience dans les milieux islamistes et partisan de longue date de la libéralisation du mouvement en Occident, affirme qu’« une vision plus ouverte et plus large de qui nous sommes et de ce que l’islam signifie pour nous ne verra le jour qu’une fois que les militants en Occident auront évolué vers un paradigme post-islamiste. Mais cela peut-il se produire ? Je suis d’avis que cela doit se produire ».

[…]

Si le Printemps arabe a ouvert la voie à de nombreuses possibilités, il a également entraîné un nombre encore plus important de défis pour les Frères musulmans en Occident. On ne saurait encore évaluer avec précision toutes les répercussions que cette époque tumultueuse a eues sur les Frères musulmans ni déterminer quel sera leur avenir. Toutefois, on peut affirmer que, à l’instar des Frères musulmans dans le monde arabe, il existe un avant et un après Printemps arabe pour la Confrérie occidentale. Cette distinction se trouve renforcée par un autre facteur tout à fait fortuit, mais extrêmement important : le renouvellement des générations – qui se produit de manière quelque peu différente selon les pays – que traversent actuellement les Frères musulmans en Occident. En effet, la première génération de pionniers qui dirigeait les organisations de la Confrérie est rejointe, voire remplacée, par des militants pour la plupart nés en Occident.

À ce stade critique, plusieurs tendances se dessinent. D’une part, les Frères musulmans en Occident semblent avoir perdu leur capacité à séduire les foules. Si les échecs du Printemps arabe ont donné lieu à de nombreuses remises en question, les agissements des Frères occidentaux n’ont fait qu’affaiblir l’enthousiasme général de leurs partisans. Au cours des dernières décennies, comme nous l’avons constaté, les Frères occidentaux ont eu pour priorité de s’imposer comme des interlocuteurs de confiance aux yeux des gouvernements et des élites occidentales ; un objectif qu’ils ont souvent atteint. Mais pour ce faire, ils ont inévitablement été contraints de sacrifier certains de leurs principes afin de renvoyer une image plus consensuelle. Comme l’ont fait remarquer Samir Amghar et Fall Khadiyatoulah, « Confrontés aux réalités de la pratique de la foi musulmane, les militants [des Frères occidentaux] ont perdu leur “impulsion utopique” d’origine ; ils ne contestent plus le cadre étatique et politique dominant ». En fait, de nombreux militants des Frères musulmans ont du mal à discerner la visée islamique dans les innombrables réunions interconfessionnelles, banquets de collecte de fonds, séminaires de sensibilisation aux médias et autres activités auxquelles l’organisation consacre la majeure partie de son énergie. Certains se montrent également perplexes au sujet de stratégies telles que les alliances avec des organisations féministes ou LGBT qui, bien que présentées en interne comme des moyens utiles pour servir leurs causes, semblent néanmoins s’écarter considérablement de ce qui est acceptable sur le plan islamique.

En conséquence, les organisations de la Confrérie occidentale souffrent de la concurrence des salafistes, dont l’approche plus intransigeante a attiré de nombreux musulmans conservateurs qui auraient auparavant gravité autour des Frères. Selon un militant belge des Frères, « À partir du moment où nous avons décidé d’être plus consensuels sur certaines questions religieuses et que nous avons commencé à ouvrir le dialogue avec les autorités publiques, une partie de nos membres ne pouvait plus se reconnaître dans nos choix ; nous avons perdu de nombreux membres ».

Parallèlement, de nombreux musulmans nés en Occident ont de plus en plus recours à des plateformes alternatives leur permettant de se mobiliser sur la base de leur identité musulmane. Beaucoup de jeunes militants musulmans, qu’ils aient commencé leur parcours dans des organisations affiliées au milieu des Frères occidentaux ou non, échappent désormais au monopole du groupe sur l’identité musulmane et peuvent donc évoluer librement sur la scène islamique. En effet, les militants musulmans occidentaux qui entretiennent des contacts avec les organisations des Frères sont souvent actifs en dehors de la structure du groupe et accèdent à des postes élevés dans les partis politiques occidentaux et la société civile, en particulier dans les milieux de gauche. Les relations entre ces électrons libres et la Confrérie sont plus ou moins étroites selon les cas ; quoi qu’il en soit, il est clair que les Frères ne représentent plus la seule voie pour les musulmans qui cherchent à s’engager politiquement en Occident.

Bien que toutes ces évolutions et tous ces témoignages rapportés dans le présent ouvrage (quel que soit leur degré de représentativité par rapport à une tendance plus large) laissent penser que les Frères musulmans en Occident sont en perte de vitesse, certains éléments tendent à croire le contraire. On peut ainsi considérer que les organisations des Frères musulmans en Occident, plus ancrées dans la société occidentale et de plus en plus dirigées par de nouveaux membres (souvent des descendants de familles importantes de la Confrérie qui interagissent) entrent simplement dans une nouvelle phase davantage prospère de leur histoire dans les pays occidentaux. Ainsi, les nouveaux dirigeants comprennent désormais qu’il est nécessaire d’arrondir les angles et de renvoyer une meilleure image de l’organisation afin d’atteindre plus facilement leurs objectifs à court et long termes. Cette nouvelle génération, si elle applique des stratégies plus affinées, pourrait donc donner un nouveau souffle aux Frères occidentaux.

Un point essentiel qui déterminera l’avenir de la Confrérie en Occident réside dans le maintien de l’idéologie fondamentale du mouvement par la nouvelle direction. Certains affirment que nous entrons dans une ère de post-ikhwanisme, et que les Frères occidentaux, sur le modèle des communistes européens des années 1970 et 1980, finiront par renoncer aux aspects les plus radicaux de leur idéologie et par se fondre dans le système. D’autres ne partagent pas cet avis. Ahmed Akkari, par exemple, estime que « l’histoire des Frères montre clairement qu’en dépit des divisions et des contradictions, le noyau de la Confrérie a toujours réussi à attirer de nouveaux partisans et à maintenir la ligne idéologique conservatrice intacte ; lorsque certaines composantes du mouvement s’éloignent trop du noyau idéologique, voire s’en détachent, la vieille garde parvient toujours à restructurer les autres composantes afin que l’organisation reste solidaire ».

Aujourd’hui, il est encore impossible de prédire la direction que prendront les Frères musulmans en Occident, s’ils se conformeront au système en place ou s’ils continueront de travailler avec lui, mais toujours en cherchant à le faire évoluer. En effet, des indicateurs pointent vers les deux directions : à terme, on peut envisager que des personnes et des organisations affiliées au réseau empruntent un chemin différent de ce dernier. Indépendamment de ces évolutions, la Confrérie restera, pendant les années à venir, un acteur essentiel pour l’avenir de l’islam en Occident.