fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Michel Onfray: Zemmour is the symptom of a leaking dam!

24 November 2022 Interviews   712  

Accused himself of being a (left-wing?) populist, Michel Onfray – whose magazine Front Populaire organised a huge meeting at the Palais des Congrès in Paris, during which he debated with Éric Zemmour – takes an atypical but lucid look at the author of “Suicide français”…

Interview By Hamid Zanaz

– Social tensions, identity fractures, health crisis, economic uncertainties… Some analysts believe that France is in decline? What does the philosopher Michel Onfray think?

– I have devoted a book of more than five hundred pages, “Décadence” (2017), to this subject. Yes, it is obvious, France is being dragged into this downward movement which concerns the exhausted Judeo-Christian civilisation and which is falling under the spell of an outside world which despises it, the United States, Turkey, China, Africa for the most visible, and under the spell of an internal self-hatred because the most visible and active elites hate France, the Judeo-Christian civilisation, the secular, Cartesian, Rabelaisian French way of life, where marivaudage has been conceived for some time as rape and Hugo’s social thought presented by “wokism” and “cancel culture” as the now obsolete product of an old heterosexual white male…

Has France fallen definitively into multiculturalism?

– In the cities, yes, in the countryside, no. The divide between the capital, flanked by French megacities, and the French provinces has never been so marked. The school formatted children to this ideology from their earliest years. Urban, educated people are the most permeable to the ideology, which they also pass on to their children. Not succumbing to the school, university, advertising, film, media and political hype requires a certain strength of mind that is more common in the countryside, where empirical wisdom is not so easy to come by… But this countryside, linked by the net and social networks to the urban Leviathans, will unfortunately not last much longer.

– Police officers, politicians and columnists openly talk about a probable civil war in France. What do you think?

– I am not one of those who think that this civil war is yet to come because… it is already here! The renunciation of the State to enforce the laws of the Republic in the territories it has lost to avoid confrontation means that this war is being waged by one side if its territories are penetrated, while the other side gives up doing its job. We have no shortage of brave policemen and gendarmes, but the politicians who have been replacing each other in power for half a century are swaggering and, underhand, they give orders to let things go. It is an asymmetrical war waged by a mafia against the rest of the country that is not moving. This civil war is not bloody because we have already lost it by not fighting it. If it were to occur to us to wage it, it would be a carnage… It is therefore being waged quietly, otherwise it would be waged with noise and fury, but the outcome is known: France no longer has the means nor the will to exercise its authority.

– Populism, a word that suffers from chronic terminological imprecision. How do you define it?

– It is the concern of the people in a political world that hates or despises them. It is a word that belongs to the vocabulary of combat led by those I call the populicides, a word created by Gracchus Babeuf, who indoctrinate the people, insult them, bypass them, forget them, despise them. How can we understand that in 2005 the Head of State asked the people to vote in a referendum on the European Treaty, that the people massively rejected it, and that Congress, the National Assembly meeting in the Senate, found nothing better to do than to cancel the result of this popular consultation? It is these populicides who call those who appeal to the people’s concern populists.

– What makes populism possible?

– The disregard for the people. General de Gaulle had created a constitution in which the head of state elected by the people regularly called him to account during the entire seven-year term and took his opinion into account: losing a legislative election meant changing the prime minister and policy or resigning. Mitterrand and Chirac invented cohabitation, which is one of the populist instruments. There were also referendums which de Gaulle took as opportunities to confirm the head of state in his post. When de Gaulle lost the 1969 referendum, he left not only power but also politics. When Chirac lost his in 2005, he stayed and Sarkozy offered him the Lisbon Treaty in 2007, which abolished the result of the referendum. After that, who can respect Mitterrand, Chirac, Sarkozy and those who supported them such as Hollande and Macron, Pécresse or Bertrand? Nobody.

– You justified the creation of the Popular Front by the existence of a “populist front”. Does this mean that you will claim to be a “left-wing populist”? 

– Yes, I’m not afraid of this word, which I even use as a tribute. Philippe Sollers, who was a communist, a Maoist, a Balladurian, like almost everything else in Paris, said of me that I was a “tribune of the plebs”. He thought he was insulting me, he didn’t know that this was a magnificent title of glory for me, especially coming from one of these German-Pratin populicides!

– Populism has long been linked to the extreme right. But today we are witnessing the emergence of left-wing or even ultra-left-wing populism. What are the reasons for this?

– A brilliant young man who is also a friend of the Popular Front, Raphaël Doan, published “Quand Rome inventait le populisme”, to show that populism already existed in Rome! It is therefore far from being an extreme right-wing affair, but it is often qualified as extreme right-wing for polemical and disqualifying purposes. Those who were called populists in Rome, the populares, appealed to the people, they believed in the figure of the strong man, the tribune capable of winning over the crowds with his words. Populism was already the voice of the weak and humble against the tyranny of the strong and powerful. This is still the case. It is understandable that the strong and the powerful want and need to disqualify both the word and the thing!

– Given the rise of populism in several European countries, do you think the emergence of a French or European Trump is possible? 

– Anything is possible in times of decadence when the compass no longer works, and at lightning speed. History is feverish, the providential man is an easy temptation, we believe that he will solve everything in a jiffy. This is an idea that comes from Judeo-Christianity: it replicates the pattern of the coming of the Messiah who will bring about the Parousia! As an atheist, I don’t believe in this kind of solution, even in the social field. It is often blood and tears that come instead of salvation. Of course, there have been exceptions that allow us not to despair totally. I am thinking of General de Gaulle. But the French eventually dismissed him: greatness cannot be the aspiration of small souls.

– How do you analyse the Zemmour phenomenon?

– Zemmour verbalizes the return of the repressed of our history for half a century. Everything that has been forbidden, taboo, prohibited since after May 68 has come back in force on the principle of a leaping dam! Because enough is enough and the French are at their wits’ end. They have lost confidence in the political staff, they know that propaganda is the law, that the criminalisation of any free thought leads to social death for any free thinker. They have had enough of Maastricht politics, which pretends once to be left-wing and once to be right-wing, whereas it is liberal and right-wing, and its staff has been replacing itself in power since 1983.

Éric Zemmour sees reality and says so, he denounces excesses, silliness, foolishness, errors, he argues, thinks, reflects, analyses, he places his remarks in a civilisational logic, he thinks in terms of the long term. He is therefore the return of the repressed who embodies another way of doing politics, outside the habits of political politics, including Le Pen. The fact remains that another part of him, unknown and unrecognised at this time, that of the candidate’s proposals, will decide his future: support or rejection cannot be obtained on the basis of the facts but on the basis of solutions.

– How do you see the role of the philosopher today?

– What it has always been, and let me quote Nietzsche: “Harming stupidity”.

– Afghanistan, the tomb of the right to interfere, you said. Don’t you think that non-interference is sometimes non-assistance to a people in danger?

– Why is it that, in the dozens of countries that might deserve such interference, no one moves? Why not intervene in China, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Cuba? Why are BHL and his ilk not going to war when it comes to these countries or to North Korea?

Moreover, in view of what is happening in France in the suburbs and in Marseilles, where deaths are pouring in, what would you think of Turkey, Algeria or Morocco invoking the right of interference to send their soldiers to the Parisian suburbs or to the city of Marseilles in order to restore calm and settle the problems associated with this civil war?

The right to interfere is a cover for neo-colonialism and the new imperialism. Let everyone stay at home and conduct their own policies, that is my sovereigntist credo.

– Is democracy universalizable, in your opinion?

– No. Universalism is inevitably imperialism. When France went to colonise Algeria, it was in the name of “1789”, of human rights, of the alleged duty to “civilize”. I remind you that Jules Ferry, who was the man of this civilisation, was a left-wing Republican…

– Why do we find it difficult to perceive the true nature of Islamic terrorism in France?

– Because we no longer make history but ideology, because the school has produced a lot of morons and the media with them. Anyone can have an opinion on Islam, even and especially if they have never read the Koran, don’t know what the Hadiths are, don’t know the biography of the prophet, and are unable to distinguish between Sunnis and Shiites! I even think that we would be surprised if we asked such and such a person in which century Mohammed lived! This does not prevent most people from having a clear-cut opinion on the question: for some, on the left, Islam is a religion of peace, tolerance and love, an opportunity for France, for others, on the right, it is misogynistic, anti-Semitic, phallocratic, homophobic, and warlike.

This ignorance of Islam is added to an ignorance of global geopolitics. The wars waged by the West against Muslim countries, American imperialism, and France’s following of these operations explain a certain number of internal problems in France in terms of coexistence between the religious communities that now constitute the country.

How then can we understand what is happening with Islamist terrorism, which is a bloody political response to the wars of civilisations – just listen to what Abdeslam said at his trial… Why are there no terrorist acts committed on Icelandic or Swiss soil?

– Is religious extremism a theological populism? 

– Yes, in a way. It is, to paraphrase and divert Marx: “the opium of the people, the sigh of the oppressed creature”…

– Is French jihadism a new nihilism as Olivier Roy claims?

– Yes, it is indeed the product of contemporary nihilism: the values that were those of Judeo-Christianity are no longer valid. The Muslim religion, which still believes in and teaches the old-fashioned paradise with the promise of an eternal hedonistic life paid for at the price of an earthly life of renunciation, asceticism and privation, attracts a good number of people. When one also believes that killing an infidel, as the Koran invites one to do in five or six verses out of more than six thousand, opens the door to paradise, one solves the problem of contemporary nihilism for oneself: life, suddenly, has a meaning. To kill the infidel is to live eternally happy in paradise; it is difficult to fight against this unreasonable belief…

– Are identities always and necessarily deadly?

– No, of course not, this is the dominant discourse of those who aspire to the digitised planet controlled by the planetary government, whose expansion will be unimpeded by the voluntary servitude of subjects who say everything about themselves, their lives, their likes and dislikes, their sexuality, their practices, their purchases, their dreams, their holidays, their thoughts, their beliefs, their religions, their manias, their habits, their desires, their wishes, their aspirations, their lovers, their leisure time on their mobiles… What current opponent of health passes is not one of them?

Identity is what makes it possible to resist the tidal wave that will sweep everything away.

– Is representative democracy dead?

– Was it ever alive? Let us say that it has sometimes been less dead in some periods than in others. For a democracy without enlightened citizens is not a democracy. This is the lesson of Condorcet.

But what is an enlightened citizen today in a world ignored by schools and saturated by television, screens, the Internet and social networks? A world where what is true, just and good has disappeared under the blows of the false, the unjust and the evil. The citizen has been replaced by a farmed pig that lives in a battery and grunts from time to time to give itself the illusion that it is still a wild boar…

– “Auto-da-fé – The art of destroying books”. What made you write this book today?

– I have seen too much, in the light of the media reception of my most active books against the dominant stupidity, how censorship works not by not talking about them, which is a common way of doing it, but by talking about them badly, in other words by saying that they say what they do not say in order to better sully them. When you say a book is anti-Semitic, fascist, Petainist, Vichy, Islamophobic, misogynistic, phallocratic, homophobic, when it is not at all, who is going to buy it and read it to check that it is not what it says? Most people will therefore have a negative opinion of a book that they have not read on the pretext that it defends theses that are not there.

I wanted to give examples with Solzhenitsyn’s “The Gulag Archipelago”, “Chairman Mao’s New Clothes” by Simon Leys, “The Black Book of Psychoanalysis”, a collective work, “Aristotle at Mont Saint-Michel” by Sylvain Guggenheim, “The Clash of Civilizations” by Samuel Huntington, “Voyage au centre du malaise français” by Paul Yonnet, which, In their time, they were vilified by politically correct journalists because they told the truth about Marxism-Leninism, Maoism, psychoanalysis, the fiction of a West that owes everything to Islam, the advent of conflicts between civilisations built on religions, the construction of a new racism from a certain anti-racism. These journalists are working to darken the world while saying they are working in the spirit of the Enlightenment – this is one of the signs of contemporary nihilism…

BioExpress 

  • A world-renowned philosopher, Michel Onfray is the author of over 120 books, translated into 28 languages.
  • Through this prodigious work, he sets out to deconstruct numerous religious, philosophical, social and political mythologies that generate illusions.
  • In 2002, he created the Popular University of Caen. In 2020, he launched his political review “Front Populaire” which was a great success.
  • Last book published: “Les raisons de l’art: une initiation à l’art, de Lascaux à Koons” (Albin Michel Editions, October 2021).

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones

 

Michel Onfray : Zemmour est le symptôme d’une digue qui saute !

24 novembre 2022 Interviews   673  

Accusé lui-même d’être un populiste (de gauche ?), Michel Onfray – dont la revue Front Populaire a organisé un gigantesque meeting au Palais des Congrès de Paris, durant lequel il a débattu avec Éric Zemmour – porte sur l’auteur du ‘‘Suicide français’’, un regard atypique mais lucide…

Propos recueillis par Hamid Zanaz

– Tensions sociales, fractures identitaires, crise sanitaire, incertitudes économiques… Certains analystes estiment que la France est en déclin ? Qu’en pense le philosophe Michel Onfray ?

– J’ai consacré un livre de plus de cinq cents pages, « Décadence » (2017), à ce sujet. Oui, c’est évident, la France est entrainée dans ce mouvement de chute qui concerne la civilisation judéo-chrétienne épuisée et qui tombe sous le coup d’un extérieur qui la méprise, les États-Unis, la Turquie, la Chine, l’Afrique pour les plus visibles, et sous le coup d’une haine de soi intérieure car les élites les plus visibles et les plus actives haïssent la France, la civilisation judéo-chrétienne, le mode de vie français laïque, cartésien, rabelaisien, où le marivaudage est conçu depuis quelque temps comme un viol et la pensée sociale de Hugo présentée par le ‘wokisme’ et la ‘cancel culture’ comme le produit désormais caduc d’un vieux mâle blanc hétérosexuel…

La France serait-elle tombée définitivement dans le multiculturalisme ?

– Dans les villes, oui, dans les campagnes, non. La fracture entre la capitale flanquée des mégalopoles françaises et les provinces françaises n’a jamais été aussi marquée. L’école formate les enfants à cette idéologie dès leurs plus jeunes années. Les urbains, diplômés sont les plus perméables à l’idéologie qu’ils transmettent également à leurs enfants. Ne pas succomber au matraquage scolaire, universitaire, publicitaire, cinématographique, médiatique, politicard exige une certaine force d’esprit plus fréquente dans les campagnes où la sagesse empirique ne s’en laisse pas compter aussi facilement… Mais cette campagne reliée par le net et les réseaux sociaux aux Léviathans urbains n’en a hélas plus pour très longtemps.

– Des policiers, des politiques, des chroniqueurs évoquent ouvertement une probable guerre civile en France. Qu’en pensez-vous ?

– Je ne suis pas de ceux qui pensent que cette guerre civile est à venir car… elle est déjà là ! Le renoncement de l’État à faire régner les lois de la République dans les territoires perdus par elle pour éviter la confrontation fait que cette guerre est menée par un camp si l’on pénètre ses territoires, pendant que l’autre renonce à faire son travail. Nous ne manquons pas de policiers et de gendarmes valeureux mais les politiciens qui se remplacent au pouvoir depuis un demi-siècle plastronnent et, en sous-main, ils donnent des ordres pour laisser-faire. C’est une guerre asymétrique menée par une mafia contre le restant du pays qui ne bouge pas. Cette guerre civile n’est pas sanglante car nous l’avons déjà perdue en ne la menant pas. S’il nous venait à l’idée de la mener, ce serait un carnage… Elle se mène donc à bas bruit, sinon elle se mènerait dans le bruit et la fureur, mais l’issue est connue : la France n’a plus les moyens ni la volonté de son autorité.

– Le populisme, ce mot qui souffre d’une imprécision terminologique chronique. Comment le définissez-vous ?

– Il est le souci du peuple dans un monde politique qui en a la haine ou le mépris. C’est un mot qui relève du vocabulaire de combat mené par ceux que j’appelle les populicides, un mot créé par Gracchus Babeuf, qui endoctrinent le peuple, l’insultent, le contournent, l’oublient, le méprisent. Comment comprendre qu’en 2005 le chef de l’État sollicite le peuple par référendum sur le Traité européen, que le peuple le refuse massivement, et que le Congrès, l’Assemblée nationale réunie au Sénat, ne trouve rien de mieux à faire que d’annuler le résultat de cette consultation populaire ? Ce sont ces populicides qui disent de ceux qui en appellent au souci du peuple qu’ils sont des populistes.

– Qu’est-ce qui rend le populisme possible ?

– Le mépris du peuple. C’est tout simple… Le général de Gaulle avait créé une Constitution dans laquelle le chef de l’État élu par le peuple lui demandait régulièrement des comptes pendant toute la durée du septennat et tenait compte de son avis : perdre une élection législative c’était changer de Premier ministre et de politique ou démissionner. Mitterrand et Chirac ont inventé la cohabitation qui est l’un des instruments populicides. Il y avait également des consultations référendaires que de Gaulle prenait comme des occasions de confirmer le chef de l’État à son poste. Quand de Gaulle perd celui de 1969, il quitte non seulement le pouvoir mais aussi la politique. Quand Chirac perd le sien en 2005, il reste et Sarkozy lui offre en 2007 le Traité de Lisbonne qui abolit le résultat du référendum. Après cela, qui peut respecter Mitterrand, Chirac, Sarkozy et ceux qui les ont soutenus tels Hollande et Macron, Pécresse ou Bertrand ? Personne…

– Vous avez justifié la création de Front Populaire par l’existence d’un ‘‘front populicide’’. Est-ce à dire que vous vous revendiquerez d’un ‘‘populisme de gauche’’ ? 

– Oui. Je n’ai pour ma part pas peur de ce mot que je porte même comme un hommage. Philippe Sollers qui fut communiste, maoïste, balladurien, comme presque tout ce qui se fait à Paris, avait dit de moi pour me flétrir que j’étais un « tribun de la plèbe ». Il croyait m’insulter, il ignorait que c’était pour moi un magnifique titre de gloire, surtout venant de l’un de ces populicides germanopratins !

– Le populisme a longtemps été lié à l’extrême droite. Or, nous assistons aujourd’hui à l’émergence d’un populisme de gauche, voire d’ultra-gauche. Quelles en sont les raisons ?

– Un jeune garçon brillant qui est aussi un ami de Front Populaire, Raphaël Doan, a publié « Quand Rome inventait le populisme », pour montrer que le populisme existait déjà à Rome ! Il est donc loin d’être une affaire d’extrême-droite mais il est souvent qualifié d’extrême droite à des fins polémiques et disqualifiantes. Ceux qu’on appelait les populistes à Rome, les populares, en appelaient en effet au peuple, ils croyaient à la figure de l’homme fort, au tribun capable d’emporter les foules avec son verbe. Le populisme était alors, déjà, la voix des faibles et des humbles contre la tyrannie des forts et des puissants. C’est toujours le cas. On comprend que les forts et les puissants aient envie et besoin de disqualifier et le mot et la chose !

– Au vu de la montée des populismes dans plusieurs pays européens, pensez-vous que l’émergence d’un Trump français ou européen est possible ? 

– Tout est possible en des temps de décadence où la boussole ne fonctionne plus, et ce à la vitesse de l’éclair. L’Histoire est fébrile, l’homme providentiel est une tentation facile, on croit qu’il va tout régler en un tournemain. C’est une idée qui procède du judéo-christianisme : elle décalque le schéma de la venue du Messie qui va réaliser la Parousie ! L’athée que je suis, y compris sur le terrain social, ne croit pas à ce genre de solution. C’est souvent du sang et des larmes qui arrivent en lieu et place du salut. Certes il y eut des exceptions qui permettent de ne pas désespérer totalement. Je songe au général de Gaulle. Mais les Français ont fini par le congédier : la grandeur ne saurait être l’aspiration des petites âmes.

– Comment analysez-vous le phénomène Zemmour ?

– Zemmour verbalise le retour du refoulé de notre histoire depuis un demi-siècle. Tout ce qui a été interdit, tabou, prohibé depuis l’après Mai 68 est revenu en force sur le principe d’une digue qui saut ! Car trop c’est trop et les Français sont à bout. Ils ont perdu confiance dans le personnel politique, ils savent que la propagande fait la loi, que la criminalisation de toute pensée libre débouche sur la mort sociale pour tout penseur libre. Ils en ont assez de la politique maastrichienne qui fait semblant une fois d’être de gauche une fois d’être de droite alors qu’elle est libérale et de droite et que son personnel se remplace au pouvoir depuis 1983.

Éric Zemmour voit le réel et le dit, il dénonce des excès, des sottises, des bêtises, des erreurs, il argumente, pense, réfléchit, analyse, il inscrit son propos dans une logique civilisationnelle, il pense en termes de longue durée. Il est donc le retour du refoulé qui incarne une autre façon de faire de la politique, en dehors des habitudes de politique politicienne, Le Pen compris. Reste qu’une autre partie de lui, inconnue et méconnue à cette heure, celle des propositions du candidat, décidera de son avenir : l’adhésion ou le refus ne sauraient s’obtenir sur les constats mais sur les solutions.

– Comment concevez-vous le rôle du philosophe aujourd’hui ?

– Ce qu’il a toujours été, et permettez que je cite Nietzsche : « Nuire à la bêtise ».

– L’Afghanistan, tombeau du droit d’ingérence, avez-vous déclaré. Ne trouvez-vous pas que la non-ingérence est parfois une non-assistance à peuple en danger ?

– Qu’est-ce qui fait que, dans les dizaines de pays qui pourraient mériter ladite ingérence, personne ne bouge ? Pourquoi ne pas intervenir en Chine, au Pakistan, en Arabie Saoudite, à Cuba ? Pour quelles raisons BHL et les siens ne sont-ils pas des va-t’en guerre quand il s’agit de ces pays ou de la Corée du Nord ?

Par ailleurs, au vu de ce qui se passe en France dans les banlieues, à Marseille où les morts se ramassent à la pelle, que penseriez-vous d’une Turquie, d’une Algérie ou d’un Maroc qui invoqueraient le droit d’ingérence pour envoyer leurs soldats en banlieue parisienne ou dans la cité phocéenne afin de ramener le calme et régler les problèmes afférents à cette guerre civile ?

Le droit d’ingérence est le cache-sexe du néocolonialisme et du nouvel impérialisme. Que chacun reste chez soi et y mène sa politique, c’est mon crédo souverainiste.

– La démocratie est-elle universalisable, selon vous ?

– Non. L’universalisme est immanquablement un impérialisme. Quand la France s’en va coloniser l’Algérie c’est au nom de « 1789 », des Droits de l’homme, du prétendu devoir de « civiliser ». Je vous rappelle que Jules Ferry, qui était l’homme de cette civilisation, était un républicain de gauche…

– Pourquoi a-t-on du mal à percevoir la vraie nature du terrorisme islamique en France ?

– Parce qu’on ne fait plus d’Histoire mais de l’idéologie, que l’école a fabriqué des crétins en quantité et les médias avec eux. N’importe qui a un avis sur l’islam même et surtout en n’ayant jamais lu le Coran, en ne sachant pas ce que sont les Hadiths, en méconnaissant la biographie du prophète, en étant incapable de distinguer les sunnites et des chiites ! Je pense même qu’on aurait des surprises en demandant à tel ou tel à quel siècle Mahomet a vécu ! Ce qui n’empêche pas le plus grand nombre d’avoir un avis tranché sur la question : pour les uns, à gauche, l’islam est une religion de paix, de tolérance et d’amour, une chance pour la France, pour les autres, à droite, elle est misogyne, antisémite, phallocrate, homophobe, belliciste.

Cette méconnaissance de l’islam s’ajoute à une méconnaissance de la géopolitique planétaire. Les guerres faites par l’Occident aux pays musulmans, l’impérialisme américain, le suivisme de la France dans ces opérations-là expliquent un certain nombre de problèmes internes à la France en matière de coexistence entre les communautés religieuses qui constituent désormais le pays.

Comment dès lors comprendre ce qui se passe avec le terrorisme islamiste qui est une réponse politique sanglante aux guerres de civilisations – qu’on écoute ce que dit Abdeslam à son procès… Pourquoi n’y-a-t-il aucun acte terroriste commis sur le sol islandais ou sur le territoire helvétique ?

– L’extrémisme religieux est-il un populisme théologique ? 

– Oui, d’une certaine manière. Il est, pour paraphraser et détourner Marx : « l’opium du peuple, le soupir de la créature opprimée »…

– Le djihadisme français est-il un nouveau nihilisme comme l’affirme Olivier Roy ?

– Oui, c’est en effet le produit du nihilisme contemporain : les valeurs qui furent celles du judéo-christianisme n’ont plus cours. La religion musulmane qui croit et enseigne encore le paradis à l’ancienne avec la promesse d’une vie hédoniste éternelle payée au prix d’une vie terrestre de renoncement, d’ascèse, de privation, attire un bon nombre de personnes. Quand on croit également que tuer un infidèle, comme y invite le Coran dans cinq ou six versets sur plus de six mille, ouvre la porte du paradis, on résout le problème du nihilisme contemporain pour soi : la vie, soudain, a un sens. Tuer l’infidèle c’est vivre éternellement heureux au paradis ; difficile de lutter contre cette croyance déraisonnable…

– Les identités sont-elles toujours et forcément meurtrières ?

– Non bien sûr, ça c’est le discours dominant de ceux qui aspirent à la planète numérisée et contrôlée par le gouvernement planétaire dont rien n’empêchera l’expansion puisqu’elle s’effectue avec la servitude volontaire des sujets qui disent tout d’eux-mêmes, de leurs vies, de leurs goûts et dégoûts, de leurs sexualités, de leurs pratiques, de leurs achats, de leurs rêves, de leurs vacances, de leurs pensées, de leurs croyances, de leurs religions, de leurs manies, de leurs habitudes, de leurs désirs, de leurs souhaits, de leurs aspirations, de leurs amants, de leurs loisirs sur leurs portables… Quel actuel opposant aux passes sanitaires n’est-il pas l’un d’entre eux ?

L’identité est ce qui permet de résister à cette lame de fond qui emportera tout.

– La démocratie représentative est-elle morte ?

– A-t-elle jamais été vivante ? Disons qu’elle a parfois été moins morte à certaines époques qu’à d’autres. Car une démocratie sans citoyens éclairés n’est pas une démocratie. C’est la leçon de Condorcet.

Or qu’est-ce qu’un citoyen éclairé aujourd’hui dans un monde ignoré par l’école et saturé par la télévision, les écrans, internet, le réseaux sociaux ? Un monde où le vrai, le juste et le bien ont disparu sous les coups de boutoirs du faux, de l’injuste et du mal. Le citoyen a été remplacé par un cochon d’élevage qui vit en batterie et grouine de temps en temps pour se donner l’illusion qu’il est encore un sanglier sauvage…

– ‘‘Autodafés – L’art de détruire les livres’’. Qu’est-ce qui fait que vous avez écrit ce livre aujourd’hui ?

– J’ai trop vu, à la lumière de la réception médiatique de mes livres les plus actifs contre la bêtise dominante, combien la censure fonctionne non pas en n’en parlant pas, ce qui est une façon courante de faire, mais en en parlant mal, autrement dit en disant qu’ils disent ce qu’ils ne disent pas afin de mieux les salir. Quand vous dites d’un livre qu’il est antisémite, fasciste, pétainiste, vichyste, islamophobe, misogyne, phallocrate, homophobe, alors qu’il ne l’est pas du tout, qui va l’acheter et le lire pour vérifier qu’il n’en est rien de ce que l’on dit de lui ? La plupart auront donc un avis négatif sur un livre qu’ils n’auront pas lu sous prétexte qu’il défend des thèses qui ne s’y trouvent pas.

 J’ai souhaité donner des exemples avec « L’archipel du Goulag de Soljenitsyne », « Les habits neufs du président Mao » de Simon Leys, « Le livre noir de la psychanalyse », ouvrage collectif, « Aristote au Mont Saint-Michel » de Sylvain Guggenheim, « Le choc des civilisations » de Samuel Huntington, « Voyage au centre du malaise français » de Paul Yonnet, qui, en leurs temps, ont été vilipendés par les journalistes du politiquement correct parce qu’ils disaient la vérité sur le marxisme-léninisme, le maoïsme, la psychanalyse, la fiction d’un Occident qui devrait tout à l’islam, l’avènement de conflits entre civilisations construites sur des religions, la construction d’un nouveau racisme à partir d’un certain antiracisme. Ces journalistes travaillent à l’obscurcissement du monde tout en disant qu’ils œuvrent dans l’esprit des Lumières – c’est l’un des signes du nihilisme contemporain…

Bio express

  • Philosophe connu (et reconnu) mondialement, Michel Onfray est l’auteur de plus de 120 ouvrages, traduits en 28 langues.
  • À travers cette œuvre prodigieuse, il s’attelle à la déconstruction de nombreuses mythologies religieuses, philosophiques, sociales et politiques génératrices d’illusions.
  • En 2002, il crée l’Université populaire de Caen. En 2020, il lance sa revue politique « Front Populaire » qui rencontre un franc succès.
  • Dernier ouvrage paru : Les raisons de l’art : une initiation à l’art, de Lascaux à Koons (Éditions Albin Michel, octobre 2021).