fbpx
 
 

 

Is Erdogan Turkish?



Martine Gozlan (*)

This is the question that every lover of the shores of the Bosporus, their blue domes, this majestic and melancholic horizon, an alloy of oriental sweetness and European freedom, asks himself: this is Turkey’s seal and genius.

From which black box did Erdogan spring to reduce this beauty to nothing? Perhaps from those coffins that Victor Hugo imagined sinking into the shimmering water with the screams of the young victims… Is he Turkish, the man who describes Orhan Pamuk as a traitor, the Proust of the Bosporus, Nobel Prize winner for literature, dreamer inspired by the mysteries of Galata? Is he Turkish, the man who wants every daughter of Eve to lock herself home to procreate, when Ankara gave women the right to vote in 1934, long before Paris?

It is precisely a woman, the journalist Ece Temelkuran, who evokes in a remarkable essay (“How to Lose a country”, Stock) the slogans heard in 2002, in a meeting of AKP activists: “We are the Turkish people. And when I talk about the people, I mean the real people!”. Sinister warning: so there were fake people to be killed. Addressing the young Ece “with the condescension of the machos of Anatolia”, these strong minds developed what they considered to be their thoughts: “You can call us the movement of the Virtuous. We are more than a party, we will change everything in this corrupt system”. Seventeen years later, the “real people” of the “Virtuous”, led by a notoriously corrupt guru, have shaken up Turkey’s image and atmosphere.

Editorialist Kadri Gursel, one of the most brilliant writers of the Cumhuriyet newspaper before being thrown in jail (fortunately he has just left the Silivri penitentiary) wrote in 2016: “The Turkey we knew will not return, a page is being turned, that of a Turkey inspired by the principles of 1923 which are progress, science, reason, gender equality, secularism in order to harmonize with the Western world. This cultural revolution, this process of secularization carried out by Ataturk was accomplished in great pain, which the Islamist movement later used to transform it into a victimization of an ideological nature. For Erdogan, Ataturk is a taboo word, an unpronounceable name… ” In this heartbreaking farewell to the beloved country (“Turkey, Year zero”, Le Cerf) Kadri Gursel expressed the major fears raised by the Erdogan regime. “Democrature” is no more in question, this word forged to define a democracy vaguely tempted by authoritarianism. By adopting by referendum in 2017 a constitution that gives him all the powers, Erdogan has moved up a notch. “Democracy is like the bus, you get off when you get to your destination” he used to say. It’s been a long time since he got off. A heavy iron gate has closed over Turkey, which has become one of those dictatorships that disfigure, render stupid and blood the Arab-Islamic world.

It is true that one day or another, they end up falling. Look at Algeria! This requires that the Supreme Leader has crossed all boundaries. “Will Erdogan go further?” asks Ariane Bonzon, an international reporter stationing in Istanbul for many years, in her latest survey (“Turkey, The moment of truth”, Empreinte editions), “will he engrave Sharia law, Islamic law, into the Constitution? Or include religious provisions in the Civil Code and the Criminal Code? If this allows him to stay in power, he will do so. In any case, he succeeded in imposing Islam as a referent for all parties. The opposition candidate for mayor of Istanbul, Ekrem Imamoglu, who still won, publicly prayed on the Koran and his wife defended the veil… ”
What’s the difference with Emine, Erdogan’s wife, who was an advocate of harems, the ideal place for women’s education in her eyes?

The tragedy is there: in the shift of a country towards an ideology that would be the negation of itself. It is under the portrait of Ataturk that Erdogan eradicated the secularism invented by Mustapha Kemal in 1924. At the time, the newspapers in Cairo headlined: “Farewell the East! “. Today, Erdogan wants to wrap himself in the caftans, gold and wars of the past. It was the fall of Christianity and the capture of Constantinople in 1453 that this pseudo-modern, drunk with conspiracy, constantly invokes. But is his “White Palace” of a thousand rooms and a thousand servants enough to make him a sultan again? Not in the least. Erdogan is a fake Turkish.

* Editor-in-Chief at the weekly french magazine “Marianne” and essayist. In 2011, while Recep Tayyip Erdogan was still worshipped abroad by the naive followers of “moderate Islamism”, she wrote a premonitory book on him: « The Turkish imposture » (Grasset).

Erdogan est-il turc ?



Martine Gozlan (*)

C’est la question que se pose tout amoureux des rives du Bosphore, de leurs coupoles bleutées, de cet horizon majestueux et mélancolique, alliage de douceur orientale et de liberté européenne : voilà le sceau et le génie de la Turquie.

De quelle boite noire a donc jailli Erdogan pour réduire cette beauté à néant ? Peut-être de ces cercueils que Victor Hugo imaginait sombrant dans l’eau moirée avec les cris des jeunes victimes… Est-il turc, l’homme qui qualifie de traitre Orhan Pamuk, le Proust du Bosphore, prix Nobel de littérature, rêveur inspiré des mystères de Galata ? Est-il turc, l’homme qui veut que toute fille d’Eve se cloitre chez elle pour procréer, alors qu’Ankara a donné le droit de vote aux femmes, en 1934, bien avant Paris ?
C’est une femme, précisément, la journaliste Ece Temelkuran, qui évoque dans un remarquable essai («Comment conduire un pays à sa perte », Stock) les slogans entendus en 2002, dans une réunion de militants de l’AKP : « Nous sommes le peuple turc. Et quand je parle du peuple, je parle du vrai peuple ! ». Sinistre avertissement : c’est donc qu’il y avait un faux peuple à abattre. S’adressant à la jeune Ece « avec la condescendance des machos d’Anatolie », ces esprits forts développaient ce qui leur tenait lieu de pensée : « Vous pouvez nous qualifier de mouvement, le mouvement des Vertueux. Nous sommes plus qu’un parti, nous allons tout changer dans ce système corrompu ». Dix-sept ans plus tard, le « vrai peuple » des « Vertueux », guidé par un gourou notoirement corrompu, a bouleversé l’image et l’atmosphère de la Turquie.
L’éditorialiste Kadri Gursel, l’une des plumes les plus brillantes du quotidien Cumhuriyet, avant d’être jeté au cachot, écrivait en 2016 : « La Turquie que nous connaissions ne reviendra pas, une page est en train de se tourner, celle d’une Turquie inspirée par les principes de 1923 qui sont le progrès, la science, la raison, l’égalité des sexes, la laïcité afin de s’harmoniser avec le monde occidental. Cette révolution culturelle, ce processus de sécularisation porté par Ataturk, s’est accompli dans une grande douleur, ce dont le mouvement islamiste s’est servi par la suite pour la transformer en une victimisation de nature idéologique. Pour Erdogan, Ataturk est un mot tabou, un nom imprononçable… » Dans cet adieu déchirant au pays adoré ( « Turquie année zéro », Le Cerf) Kadri Gursel énonçait les craintes majeures soulevées par le régime d’Erdogan. Il n’est plus question de « démocrature », ce mot forgé pour définir une démocratie vaguement tentée par l’autoritarisme. En faisant adopter par référendum en 2017 une constitution qui lui donne tous les pouvoirs, Erdogan a franchi un palier. « La démocratie, c’est comme le bus, on en descend une fois arrivé à destination » clamait-il naguère. Cela fait longtemps qu’il en est descendu. Une lourde porte de fer s’est refermée sur la Turquie, devenue une de ces dictatures qui défigurent, abêtissent et ensanglantent le monde arabo-islamique.
Il est vrai qu’un jour ou l’autre, elles finissent par tomber. Voyez l’Algérie ! Il faut pour cela que le leader suprême ait franchi toutes les bornes. « Erdogan ira-t-il plus loin ? s’interroge Ariane Bonzon, grand reporter en poste à Istanbul de nombreuses années, dans sa dernière enquête (« Turquie, l’heure de vérité », éditions Empreinte), va-t-il graver la Charia, la loi islamique, dans la Constitution ? Ou inclure des dispositions religieuses dans le Code civil et le Code pénal ? Si cela lui est nécessaire pour rester au pouvoir, il le fera. De toute façon il a réussi à imposer l’Islam comme référent à tous les partis. Le candidat de l’opposition à la mairie d’Istanbul, Ekrem Imamoglu, qui l’a tout de même emporté, priait publiquement et son épouse défendait le voile… » Quelle différence avec Emine, la femme d’Erdogan, qui faisait l’apologie des harems, lieu idéal à ses yeux de l’éducation des femmes ?
Le drame est là : dans le glissement d’un pays vers une idéologie qui serait la négation de lui-même. C’est sous le portrait d’Ataturk qu’Erdogan éradique la laïcité inventée par Mustapha Kemal en 1924. « Adieu l’Orient ! » titrent à l’époque les journaux du Caire. Aujourd’hui, Erdogan veut s’envelopper dans les caftans, les ors et les guerres du passé. C’est la chute de la chrétienté et la prise de Constantinople en 1453 que ce pseudo-moderne ivre de complotisme ne cesse d’invoquer. Mais son « Palais blanc » de mille pièces et mille serviteurs suffit-il à en refaire un sultan ? Pas un instant. Erdogan est un Turc en toc.

* Rédactrice en chef à l’hebdomadaire Marianne et essayiste. En 2011, alors que Recep Tayyip Erdogan était encore adulé à l’étranger par les naïfs adeptes de « l’islamisme modéré », elle lui avait consacré un ouvrage prémonitoire : « L’imposture turque » (Grasset).