2019, the new “UAV War”?



Roland Jacquard (*)

UAVs, small remote-controlled flying devices, made their appearance in the world of intelligence and counter-terrorism on September 7, 2000. Almost one year to the day before the tragic turn of the September 11, 2001 attacks, a Predator-type drone flew over a farm in southern Kandahar, where al-Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden was reportedly staying as part of a reconnaissance mission codenamed “Afghan Eyes”.

Anti-terrorist experts were stirred by the quality of the images captured by these small “iron birds”, which are much more accurate than those of spy satellites. They then predicted that drones would play a leading role in counter-terrorism intelligence. A role that will very soon exceed all predictions. Because after September 11, the American services, launched after the al-Qaeda leaders, did not simply use drones as tools for gathering information to track down terrorist leaders. They turned them into “killing machines” by equipping them with Hellfire missiles. In this way, the drones could hit and instantly spray terrorist targets as soon as they located them.

At the time, the US Air Force had only five drones. Equipped with air-to-ground missiles, they very quickly showed the full extent of their effectiveness. And it took only 9 days for these five “iron birds” launched over Kabul from 7 November 2001, to achieve a major feat.
Indeed, on 16 November, a Predator armed with Hellfire missiles spotted al-Qaeda’s number 3, Mohamed Atef, alias Abu Hafs al-Masri, in a small house in Kabul’s western districts. The target is immediately pulverized by the drone. Atef, his deputy Abu Ali al-Yafi’e and six of their guards were killed immediately.

A program for the production of drones armed with air-to-ground missiles was then launched. In May 2004, General Atomics, the manufacturer of the Predators, delivered thirty copies to the US Air Force.

And it was immediately the beginning of a 7-years “drone war”, during which more than a million hours of flight time of these remote-controlled vehicles were carried out in the Afghan-Pakistani tribal areas. This has resulted in more than 80,000 “targeted assassinations” missions that have eliminated 2,588 terrorist targets, including 1,357 al-Qaeda members.

Later, this “drone war” continued with the same terrifying effectiveness on other jihadist fronts in Yemen, the Sahel, Libya and of course in the Syrian-Iraqi fiefdoms of Daesh.

But terrorist organizations, which have long suffered the pangs of drone attacks, now have the ambition to control these “iron birds” in turn, to use them as a new technological weapon for future jihadist attacks.

The threat is not entirely new. Since 2015, Daesh fighters have been using civilian drones, freely available on the market, which they use for reconnaissance and attack missions. By equipping them with grenades or small explosive charges of a few hundred grams, they carried out an average of 60 to 100 remote-controlled attacks per month, particularly against Kurdish fighters and American and French special forces, until the collapse of the strongholds of the Caliphate.

A confidential US report, entitled “The Islamic State and Drones: Supply, Scale and Future Threats”, states that the fall of the Caliphate did not end the Daeshian program of using drones for terrorist purposes. According to this report, documents seized after Mosul’s takeover showed that Daesh has set up a unit within its “Military Manufacturing and Development Committee” dedicated to controlling UAV technology.

For its part, a French report entitled “The Islamic State is seeking to manufacture drones equipped with high-intensity explosives” is alarmed by the fact that the tests carried out on devices developed by Daesh, for instance by modifying Chinese-manufactured DJI drones, have enabled them to be equipped with higher intensity explosive charges of up to 4.9 kg.

The high explosive charges that these modified UAVs can now be equipped with, combined with the significant improvement in their drop accuracy, raise fears among counter-terrorism services that a new form of remote-controlled attacks will emerge, which will no longer be confined solely to Syrian-Iraqi Jihadist areas.

In that case, we would move towards a “new war of drones” directed against civilian targets or sensitive areas, through “robotized or remote-controlled flying kamikaze systems”.

Worse still, the “Action Plan against Terrorism”, revealed by the French government on last 13 July, pointed out the “rise in technical skills of radicalized people”, alluding to point 19 of the Action Plan (the plan includes 32 anti-terrorist action points) aiming for “anticipating the response to emerging threats – nuclear, radiological, chemical, explosive and drones”, the existence of the “risk of misuse of commercial drones”.

If this hypothesis were to materialize, the malevolent use of drones with an unprecedented use of chemical or radiological explosive charges, commonly known as “dirty bombs”, could make of the upcoming “new drones war” a major challenge for counter-terrorism in the months and years to come.

* Writer and consultant, President of Roland Jacquard Global Security Consulting (RJGSC)

2019, nouvelle « guerre des drones » ?



Roland Jacquard (*)

Les drones, petits engins volants télécommandés à distance, ont fait leur apparition dans le monde du renseignement et de la lutte antiterroriste, le 7 septembre 2000. Un an, presque jour pour jour, avant le tournant tragique des attaques du 11 septembre 2001, un drone de type Predators a survolé une ferme où séjournerait le leader d’al-Qaida, Oussama Ben Laden, au sud de Kandahar, dans le cadre d’une mission de reconnaissance qui porta le nom de code d’« Afghan Eyes ».

Les experts antiterroristes se sont émus de la qualité des images captées par ces petits « oiseux de fer », nettement plus précises que celles des satellites espions. Ils prédisent, alors, aux drones un rôle de premier rang dans le renseignement antiterroriste. Un rôle qui va, très vite, dépasser toutes les prédictions. Car, après le 11 septembre, les services américains, lancés aux trousses des chefs d’al-Qaida, ne se sont pas contentés de faire des drones des outils de collecte d’informations visant à débusquer les chefs terroristes. Ils en ont fait des « machines à tuer », en les équipant de missiles Helfire. Les drones ainsi armés pouvaient frapper et pulvériser instantanément les cibles terroristes dès qu’ils les localisent.
A l’époque, l’armée de l’air américaine ne disposait que de cinq drones. Équipés de missiles air-sol, ils ont très vite montré toute l’étendue de leur efficacité. Et il n’a fallu que 9 jours à ces cinq « oiseaux de fer » lancés au dessus de Kaboul, à partir du 7 novembre 2001, pour réaliser un exploit de taille.
En effet, le 16 novembre, un Predator armé de missiles Helfire a repéré le numéro 3 d’al-Qaida, Mohamed Atef, alias Abou Hafs al-Masri, dans une petite maison des quartiers ouest de Kaboul. La cible est aussitôt pulvérisée par le drone. Atef, son adjoint Abou Ali al-Yafi’é et six de leurs gardes sont tués sur le champs.
Un programme de fabrication en chaîne de drones armés de missiles air-sol a alors été lancé. En mai 2004, General Atomics, le fabricant des Predators, en livre trente exemplaires à l’armée de l’air US.
Et ce fut aussitôt le début d’un « guerre des drones », durant laquelle plus d’un million d’heures de vol de ces engins télécommandés ont été effectuées, durant sept ans, dans les zones tribales afghano-pakistanaises. Cela a donné lieu à plus 80 milles missions d’« assassinats ciblés » qui ont permis l’élimination de 2588 cibles terroristes, dont 1357 membres d’al-Qaida.
Plus tard, cette « guerre des drones » s’est poursuivie, avec la même et terrifiante efficacité, sur d’autres front djihadistes, au Yémen, au Sahel, en Libye et bien sûr dans les fiefs syro-irakiens de Daech.
Mais, les organisations terroristes, qui ont longtemps subi les affres des attaques de drones, nourrissent désormais l’ambition de maîtriser, à leurs tour, ces « oiseux de fer », pour en user comme une nouvelle arme technologique lors de futurs attentats djihadistes.
La menace n’est pas tout à fait nouvelle. Depuis 2015, les combattants de Daech ont recours à des drones civils, vendus librement dans le commerce, qu’ils utilisent pour des missions de reconnaissance, mais aussi d’attaque. En les équipant de grenades ou de petites charges explosives de quelques centaines de grammes, ils menaient, jusqu’à l’effondrement des fiefs du Califat, une moyenne de 60 à 100 attaques télécommandées par mois, notamment contre les combattants kurdes et les forces spéciales américaines et françaises.
Un rapport confidentiel américain, intitulé « The Islamic State and Drones : Supply, Scale and Future Threats », affirme que la chute du Califat n’a pas mis fin au programme daechien d’utilisation des drones à des fins terroristes. Selon ce rapport, des documents saisis après la reprise de Mossoul ont montré que Daech a mis en place au sein de son « comité de la fabrication et du développement militaire » une unité dédiée à la maîtrise de la technologie des drones.
De son côté un rapport Français, intitulé « L’Etat Islamique cherche à fabriquer des drones munis d’explosifs de haute intensité », s’alarme du fait que les tests menés sur des engins développés par Daech, notamment en modifiant des drones de fabrication chinoises de type DJI, ont permis de les équiper de charge explosives de plus haute intensité pouvant atteindre 4,9 Kg.
L’importance des charges explosives dont ces drones modifiés peuvent désormais être équipés, conjuguée à la nette amélioration de leur précision de largage, font craindre aux services antiterroristes l’apparition d’une nouvelle forme d’attaques télécommandées, qui ne seront plus confinées aux seules zones djihadistes syro-irakiennes.
On se dirigerait alors vers une « nouvelle guerre des drones » dirigés contre des cibles civiles ou de sites sensibles, à travers des « systèmes kamikazes volants robotisés ou télécommandés ».
Pis encore, le « Plan d’action contre le terrorisme », révélé par le gouvernement français, le 13 juillet dernier, a pointé la « montée en compétences techniques des personnes radicalisées », évoquant dans le point d’action n°19 (le plan comporte 32 points d’action antiterroristes), visant à « anticiper la réponse aux menaces émergentes – nucléaire, radiologique, chimiques, explosifs et drones », l’existence du « risque d’un usage malveillant des drones de la gamme commerciale ».
Si cette l’hypothèse venait à se concrétiser, l’utilisation malveillante des drones accompagnée d’un recours inédit à des charge explosives chimiques ou radiologiques, communément appelés « bombes sales », risque de faire de la « nouvelle guerre des drones », qui s’annonce, un enjeu majeur pour le contre-terrorisme, durant les mois et années à venir.

* Écrivain et consultant, président du Roland Jacquard Global Security Consulting (RJGSC)