Five members of the Qatari princely family involved in the financing of terrorism

Five members of the Qatari princely family involved in the financing of terrorism

For a long time, the Doha authorities’ defence strategy, faced with increasing revelations about the involvement of many Qatari dignitaries in terrorist financing scandals, has been to describe them as individual initiatives that do not represent the government.

 

My meeting with Abdelrahman al-Nuaimi, Qatari terrorist money maker!

For years – and until recently – a good half a dozen Qatari individuals were funding al-Qaeda in Iraq in Syria or the Shebab in Somalia. For the purposes of our investigation, on the book published with my colleague Christian Chesnot (Nos très chers émirs, sont-ils vraiment nos amis), we met in 2016 one of these terrorist financiers, Sheikh Abd Al-Rahman bin Omer al-Nuaimi in Doha, who has been on the European Union and United States black lists since 2014.

 

Muslim Brotherhood and jihadist extremism: The nefarious links

Muslim Brotherhood and jihadist extremism: The nefarious links

Apart from belonging to radical Islamist ideology, what is the common link between Al-Qaeda and Daesh, even though they are rivals? And the one between the brain behind the 11 September attacks, Khalid Sheikh Mohammed, and the ‘star’ preacher of the Al-Jazeera chain, Youssef Al-Qaradawi? And a myriad of pro-Islamic networks of influence and funding, established both in the Arab world and in the great capital cities of the West?
The answer is unequivocal: the pan-Islamic Fraternity of the Muslim Brotherhood! This emerges from a very detailed study titled ‘The Muslim Brotherhood’s ties to Extremists’ produced by the US think-tank Counter Extremism Project.

 

Hamza Bin Laden, the end of al-Qaeda’s dynastic dream

Hamza Bin Laden, the end of al-Qaeda’s dynastic dream

The death of the youngest son of al-Qaeda’s founder, Hamza bin Laden (30 years old), announced at the end of July and officially confirmed by the Pentagon on August 22, is one of the hardest blows that the mother house of global jihadism has suffered since the death of its founder in May 2011.

 

The Swiss Nicolas Blancho: a fake crank, a true pro-Qatar Islamist

Who is the Islamist in Switzerland who has monopolized the media most in the last decade? Tariq Ramadan, suspected of rape, or his brother Hani, director of the Geneva Islamic Center, and a strong advocate of stoning? Not at all, it is Nicolas Blancho, a 36-year-old convert with a long bushy red beard, chairman of the Islamic Central Council of Switzerland (CCIS), a structure whose true audience it is difficult to assess.

 

Hostage-taking of a leader of Total in Libya: A warning from the anti-Haftar to France?

Hostage-taking of a leader of Total in Libya: A warning from the anti-Haftar to France?

According to the findings of a confidential French investigation, the leader of the oil tanker Total kidnapped in Libya last April, then released for ransom, was watched over by militias allied with the government of Fayez el-Serraj, since the beginning of the attack of the Marshal Haftar on Tripoli.

Ma rencontre avec Abdelrahman al-Nouaïmy, argentier qatari du terrorisme !

Pendant des années – et jusqu’à récemment encore – une bonne demi-douzaine d’individus qataris finançaient Al Qaida en Irak en Syrie ou les Shebab en Somalie. Pour les besoins de notre enquête, sur le livre publié avec mon confrère Christian Chesnot (Nos très chers émirs, sont-ils vraiment nos amis ?), nous avions rencontré en 2016 l’un de ces financiers du terrorisme, cheikh Abdulrahmane Bin Omer al-Nouaimy à Doha, qui figure depuis 2014, sur les listes noires de l’Union européenne et des Etats-Unis.

 

Frères Musulmans et extrémisme djihadiste : les liens sulfureux

Frères Musulmans et extrémisme djihadiste : les liens sulfureux

Au-delà de l’appartenance à l’idéologie islamiste radicale, quel est le lien commun entre al-Qaïda à Daech, pourtant rivaux ? Entre le cerveau des attentats du 11 septembre, Khalid Sheikh Mohammed, et le prédicateur vedette de la chaîne al-Jazeera, Youssef Al-Qaradawi ? Et une myriade de réseaux d’influence et de financement pro-islamiques implantés aussi bien au monde arabe que dans les grandes capitales occidentales ?
La réponse est sans équivoque : la Confrérie pan-islamique des Frères musulmans ! C’est ce que démontre une étude très fouillée, intitulée The muslim brotherhood’s ties to exterimists, réalisée par le Think-tank américain Counter Extremism Project.

 

Hamza Ben Laden, la fin du rêve dynastique d’al-Qaida

Hamza Ben Laden, la fin du rêve dynastique d’al-Qaida

La mort du fils cadet du fondateur d’al-Qaida, Hamza Ben Laden (30 ans), annoncée fin juillet dernier, puis confirmée officiellement par le Pentagone le 22 août, est l’un des coups les durs que la maison-mère du djihadisme mondial a subi, depuis la mort de son fondateur en mai 2011.

 

Le Suisse Nicolas Blancho : faux hurluberlu, vrai islamiste pro-Qatar

Quel est l’islamiste en Suisse qui accapare le plus les médias depuis une décennie ? Tariq Ramadan, soupçonné de viols, ou son frère Hani, directeur du Centre islamique de Genève, et ardent défenseur de la lapidation ? Pas du tout, il s’agit de Nicolas Blancho, un converti de 36 ans, à la longue barbe rousse broussailleuse, président du Conseil central islamique suisse (CCIS), une structure dont il est difficile d’évaluer la véritable audience.

 

Prise d’otage d’un dirigeant de Total en Libye : Un avertissement des anti-Haftar à la France ?

Prise d’otage d’un dirigeant de Total en Libye : Un avertissement des anti-Haftar à la France ?

Selon les conclusions d’une enquête confidentielle françaises, le dirigeant du pétrolier Total enlevé en Libye, en avril dernier, puis relâché contre une rançon, était surveillé par des milices alliées au gouvernement de Fayez el-Serraj, depuis le début de l’offensive du maréchal Haftar sur Tripoli.

 

Antiterrorisme : nouvel enjeu de taille en Afrique centrale

Antiterrorisme : nouvel enjeu de taille en Afrique centrale

Le terrorisme continue à s’étendre en Afrique Centrale, notamment au Burkina-Faso et en Centrafrique, mais aussi au Congo-Kinshasa. Une instabilité régionale qui inquiète au plus haut niveau les Etats-Unis et les grandes puissances européennes. Et fait de la lutte antiterroriste un nouvel enjeu de taille en Afrique Centrale.