The new business of the Swiss brother of Osama bin Laden



Returned to Saudi Arabia, Yeslam Bin Laden, 68, one of Osama’s older brothers, had been out of radar for many years. We have just learned that he has recently sold his private residence in Geneva, bought in 1985, for 23 million Swiss francs (20, 2 million euros).

 

Located on the shores of Lake Geneva since 1981, naturalized Swiss, Yeslam Bin Laden was in the crosshairs of a French judge, Renaud Van Ruymbeke, following a report from Tracfin in November 2001.

The day after September 11, Yeslam bin Laden had transformed his company, the Saudi Investment Company (SICO), to become a minority shareholder. The main occupation of SICO, owned by the Falken holding company in the Cayman Islands, was the transfer of money to tax havens. That’s how for example, Yeslam Bin Laden, who held in Panama the company Celta Finance, received between 1999 and 2001, six million euros from the British company Colmar Limited.
The problem is that for years all letters rogatory sent by judge Renaud Van Ruymbeke in these exotic countries have remained unanswered. As a result, on December 27, 2006, the magistrate was forced to sign a “dismissal order”, explaining that “the investigations carried out did not make it possible to mark money laundering or financing activities or networks related to Osama Bin Laden from the companies analyzed”.
However, not fooled, the judge adds: “we order the deposit at the registry to be resumed if there were new charges”. But since 2006, neither Yeslam Bin Laden nor the members of his family have been alarmed by the western justice systems. On the other hand, some of them were caught in the net launched by Mohammed Ben Salman, to force a number of the biggest businessmen of the Kingdom to repay huge sums improperly affected. The Bin Laden clan was thus forced to sell its shares in the Saudi Binladin Group, the family’s parent company in Saudi Arabia.

Les nouvelles (affaires) du frère suisse d’Oussama Ben Laden



Retourné en Arabie Saoudite, Yeslam Ben Laden, 68 ans, l’un des frères aînés d’Oussama, échappait aux radars depuis de nombreuses années. On vient d’apprendre qu’il a récemment mis en vente son hôtel particulier à Genève, acheté en 1985, pour 23 millions de francs suisses (20,2 millions d’euros).

Installé sur les bords du lac Léman depuis 1981, naturalisé suisse, Yeslam Ben Laden était dans le collimateur du juge français Renaud Van Ruymbeke, suite à un signalement de Tracfin, en novembre 2001.
Au lendemain du 11 septembre, Yeslam Ben Laden avait transformé sa société, la Saudi Investment Company (SICO), pour en devenir un actionnaire minoritaire. L’occupation principale de la SICO, détenue par la holding Falken, installée aux îles Caïmans, était le transfert d’argent vers des paradis fiscaux. C’est ainsi que Yeslam Ben Laden qui détenait, par exemple, à Panama, la société Celta Finance, a perçu entre 1999 et 2001, six millions d’euros de la société britannique Colmar Limited.
Le problème, c’est que pendant des années toutes les commissions rogatoires envoyées par le juge Renaud Van Ruymbeke dans ces pays exotiques sont restées sans réponse. Résultat, le 27 décembre 2006, le magistrat a été contraint de signer une « ordonnance de non-lieu », expliquant que « les investigations menées n’ont pas permis de caractériser des opérations de blanchiment ou de financement d’activités ou de réseaux liés à Oussama Ben Laden à partir des sociétés analysés ».
Toutefois, pas dupe, le juge a ordonné : « le dépôt au greffe pour y être repris s’il survenait des charges nouvelles ». Mais depuis 2006, ni Yeslam Ben Laden ni les membres de sa famille n’ont été inquiétés par les justices occidentales. En revanche, certains d’entre eux ont été pris dans le coup de filet lancé par Mohammed Ben Salman, pour contraindre un certain nombres des plus grands hommes d’affaires du Royaume à rembourser des sommes faramineuses indûment touchées. Le clan Ben Laden a, ainsi, été contraint à céder ses parts dans le Saudi Binladin Group, la maison mère de la famille en Arabie saoudite.