No, Mr. Erdogan, Tunisia is not a Beylik!

No, Mr. Erdogan, Tunisia is not a Beylik!

Beylik: that’s the word we don’t want to hear anymore in Tunis. Beylik, domain of the bey, vassal of the sultan. Beylik, province or Ottoman “regency”. A word that comes from the well of the centuries, a return of the historical repressed. It was furiously written in the country’s media after the unexpected visit to Tunis of Recep Tayyip Erdogan, who came to ask President Kais Saied to support a Turkish intervention in Libya in support of the ill-named “Government of National Accord” of Faiez Sarraj against General Khalifa Haftar. By opening Matmata airport to Turkish military aircraft. But yes, of course, it made sense: the tiny and strategic Tunisia could not but acquiesce to Ankara’s desires. In the spirit of the neo-Great Turk, it had to become again the vassal of the old days.

 

Night in Paris, Lights on the Middle-East

Night in Paris, Lights on the Middle-East

The French should be proud. Their values – secularism, citizenship, equality – are today being waved in bruised and divided countries, where we didn’t expect it. In Lebanon, huge crowds, young, colorful, united beyond their differences, demand that an end is being put to the old confessional system. Born after the civil war, hostile to the manipulation of their small country by rival and predatory powers, Saudi Arabia and Iran, these demonstrators reinvent, in Levant, the beautiful “fatherland” word. Hezbollah, contested for the first time in its own strongholds, vainly sends its soldiers to attempt to crush the movement.

 

Coronavirus, Allah or Jehovah’s Secret Agent

Coronavirus, Allah or Jehovah’s Secret Agent

Emile Habibi, a Palestinian writer from Haïfa who stayed on in Israel after 1948, had coined a great word to describe the state of mind of those individuals who experience ambiguity on a daily basis: peptimist. It is a mixture of hope and weariness, somewhere at a juncture between optimism and pessimism. This is a most fitting word to use these days in light of the consequences the epidemic is having on religions.

 

Election Day In Jerusalem

It was election day in Jerusalem. A day in the recent past – September 17 – but it could be a near future because Israel is blocked. The Hebrew state fails to give itself a government. He voted in the spring, voted again at the very beginning of the fall and is afraid of a third election.

 

When the Hamas betrays the Palestinians

It is the only revolt of Arab people against its leaders that does not have right of citizenship in the European media, especially in French media. The revolt took place in Gaza last March: Hamas
repressed in the blood the anger of people who shouted “We want to live! “. It’s the opinion makers who, from London to Paris, repressed it in silence.

 

Asia Bibi and the Pakistani black hole

Asia has finally been able to flee Asia. Asia Bibi, a Christian Pakistani, left her native country after ten years of nightmare. Ten years on death row in the prison where she was thrown in 2009 for “blasphemy”. In Pakistan, “blasphemy” is a crime: it allows everyone to accuse their neighbour of insulting Islam and its prophet.

Non, M. Erdogan, la Tunisie n’est pas un Beylik !

Non, M. Erdogan, la Tunisie n’est pas un Beylik !

Beylik : c’est le mot qu’on ne veut plus entendre à Tunis. Beylik, domaine du bey, vassal du sultan. Beylik, province ou «  régence » ottomane. Un mot qui remonte du puits des siècles, un retour du refoulé historique. Il a été griffonné rageusement dans les médias du pays après la visite impromptue à Tunis de Recep Tayip Erdogan, venu demander au président Kais Saied de soutenir une intervention turque en Libye pour appuyer le mal nommé « Gouvernement d’accord national » de Faiez Sarraj contre le général Khalifa Haftar. En ouvrant l’aéroport de Matmata aux avions militaires turcs. Mais oui bien sûr, cela tombait sous le sens : la minuscule et stratégique Tunisie ne pouvait qu’acquiescer aux désirs d’Ankara. Dans l’esprit du néo-Grand Turc, elle se devait de redevenir la vassale des jours anciens.

 

Nuit à Paris, lumières sur l’Orient

Nuit à Paris, lumières sur l’Orient

Les Français devraient être fiers. Ce sont leurs valeurs – laïcité, citoyenneté, égalité- que l’on brandit aujourd’hui dans des pays meurtris et déchirés, là où on ne l’attendait pas. Au Liban, des foules immenses, jeunes, chamarrées, unies au delà de leurs différences, exigent qu’on en finisse avec le vieux système confessionnel. Nés après la guerre civile, hostiles à l’instrumentalisation de leur minuscule pays par des puissances rivales et prédatrices, l’Arabie Saoudite et l’Iran, les manifestants réinventent au Levant le beau mot de patrie. Le Hezbollah, contesté pour la première fois dans ses fiefs, envoie en vain ses miliciens écraser le mouvement.

 

Le Covid-19, agent secret d’Allah ou de Jehovah

Le Covid-19, agent secret d’Allah ou de Jehovah

L’écrivain Emile Habibi, Palestinien de Haïfa resté en Israël après 1948, avait inventé un joli mot pour qualifier l’état d’esprit des individus qui vivent l’ambiguité au quotidien : peptimiste. Un cocktail d’espérance et de lassitude, quelque part entre l’optimisme et le pessimisme. C’est exactement le terme qui convient aujourd’hui face aux conséquences de l’épidémie sur les religions.

 

Jérusalem, un jour d’élection

C’était jour d’élection à Jérusalem. Un jour du proche  passé -17 septembre dernier- mais ce pourrait être un proche futur car Israël est bloqué. L’Etat hébreu ne parvient pas à se donner un gouvernement. Il a voté au printemps, revoté en ce tout début d’automne et redoute un troisième scrutin.

 

Quand le Hamas trahit les palestiniens

C’est la seule révolte d’un peuple arabe contre ses dirigeants qui n’a pas droit de cité dans les médias européens, notamment français. Elle s’est déroulée à Gaza en mars dernier : le Hamas a étouffé dans le sang la colère d’un peuple qui criait « Nous voulons vivre ! ». Les faiseurs d’opinion, de Londres à Paris, eux, l’ont étouffée dans le silence.

 

Asia Bibi et le trou noir pakistanais

Asia a pu enfin fuir l’Asie. Asia Bibi, Pakistanaise chrétienne, a quitté son pays natal après dix ans de cauchemar. Dix ans dans le couloir de la mort de la prison où elle a été jetée en 2009 pour « blasphème ». Au Pakistan, le « blasphème » est un crime : il permet à tout un chacun d’accuser son voisin, sa voisine d’insulte à l’islam et à son prophète.