Five members of the Qatari princely family involved in the financing of terrorism



For a long time, the Doha authorities’ defence strategy, faced with increasing revelations about the involvement of many Qatari dignitaries in terrorist financing scandals, has been to describe them as individual initiatives that do not represent the government.

However, the latest revelations in the Anglo-Saxon press point to prominent members of the princely family of the al-Thani. For example, following recent revelations in the Times about the al-Rayan bank scandal, former Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Hamad bin Jassim al-Thani – who had already been splashed last February by a corruption scandal linked to the Barclays bank – panicked. According to British consulting and strategy firm Cornerstone Global, the former strong man from Doha, who was the right-hand man of former Emir Hamad bin Khalifa al-Thani and who is still linked to him in business, has put several of his properties in Paris and London up for sale at discount prices.
Indeed, on August 5, the Times revealed that al-Rayan Bank, the largest and oldest Islamic bank in Britain, which provides sharia-compliant banking services to more than 85,000 customers, is operated by Qatar to finance some 15 Islamist organisations, including one association on the US terrorist lists and four other entities (a mosque and three charities) that have taken refuge with al-Rayan Bank following the freezing of their accounts by other British banks, such as Barclays, HSBC, NatWest and Lloyds, in connection with terrorist financing investigations.
The other ten controversial organisations, funded by Qatar through the al-Rayan bank, are linked to the Muslim Brotherhood. The most famous is Nectar Trust, which took over from the British branch of Qatar Charity, dissolved in 2014. Nectar Trust is said to have paid more than £37 million (€40 million) via al-Rayan Bank to entities linked to the Muslim Brotherhood across Europe.
Yet, 70% of al-Rayan Bank’s capital is held by the Qatari bank Masraf al-Rayan, based in Doha, the majority of whose shares are held by state agencies. The remaining 30% of al-Rayan’s capital is held by an investment portfolio owned by the Qatari sovereign fund and led by Hamad bin Jassim al-Thani. Hence the latter’s readiness to liquidate his properties in Great Britain and France, estimated at around $869 million, for fear of being subject to a freezing of his assets for terrorist financing, if the investigations launched against al-Rayan Bank succeed in establishing his personal responsibility for the largesse granted by this bank to extremist organisations.
The names of two other members of the al-Thani family, and not the least, are mentioned in Western investigations and judicial complaints. They are two brothers of the current Emir Tamim bin Hamad bin Khalifa al-Thani. The first, Fahad bin Hamad bin Khalifa al-Thani, whose Salafist tendencies are an open secret known to all Western chancelleries, is cited in an investigation targeting an association that finances a radical madrasa (Koranic school) in Pakistan. The second, Khalid bin Hamad bin Khalifa al-Thani, has been the subject of a federal complaint in the United States since July 23 for having ordered an attempted murder of two American citizens.
The fourth member of the princely family, suspected of terrorist financing, is Abdulaziz Abdulrahman al-Thani. A key figure in Qatari “charities”, he was successively the CEO of the Qatar Charity Foundation, the Qatari Royal Family Council and the Qatari Joint Committee for Relief. He currently chairs two Islamic associations in Switzerland, Qoranona and Aziz Aid, co-led by Nicolas Blancho, a highly controversial Swiss converted Islamist, described by the Swiss press as “the most dangerous Islamist in the country” and nicknamed “Bin Laden of Biel” (see page 12 in Ian Hamel’s column).
Blancho has set up two Swiss associations, which serve as parachutes, through which Qoranona and Aziz Aid provide financial support to Salafist networks. These are the Islamic Council of Switzerland (CCIS) and the Association of Muslim Scholars (ASM).
However, the Secretary General of the CCIS, Qatari Ali bin Abdullah al-Suwaidi, is on the US blacklist of personalities financing terrorism because of his financial support for al-Qaeda. ASM President Abdulmohsen al-Mutairi (Blancho is only the Secretary General) was also registered by the US Treasury in December 2016 on the list of personalities financing terrorism. The same is true for Abdel Wahab al-Homaiqani, a member of the ASM leadership, who was pinned for providing logistical support to al-Qaeda in Yemen (AQPA). And Shefqet Krasniqi, another WSA executive, was sentenced in Kosovo in February 2017 for terrorist financing and tax evasion.

Cinq membres de la famille princière qatarie impliqués dans le financement du terrorisme



Longtemps les autorités de Doha ont eu pour stratégie de défense, face à multiplication des révélations sur l’implication de nombreux dignitaires qataris dans les scandales liés au financement du terrorisme, de les qualifier d’initiatives individuelles qui ne représentent pas le gouvernement.

Or, les dernières révélations de la presse anglo-saxonne pointent du doigt des membres éminents de la famille princière des al-Thani. Ainsi, suite aux récentes révélations du Times concernant le scandale de la banque al-Rayan, l’ancien premier ministre et ministre des affaires étrangères, Hamad Bin Jassim al-Thani – qui avait déjà été éclaboussé, en février dernier, par un scandale de corruption lié à la banque Barclays – a été pris de panique. Selon le cabinet britannique de conseil et stratégie Cornerstone Global, l’ancien homme fort de Doha, qui fut le bras droit de l’ancien émir Hamad Bin Khalifa al-Thani et qui est toujours lié avec ce dernier en affaires, a procédé à la mise en vente, à des prix bradés, de plusieurs de ses propriétés à Paris et à Londres.
En effet, le 5 août dernier le Times révélait qu’al-Rayan Bank, la plus grande et la plus ancienne banque Islamique en Grande Bretagne, qui assure des prestations bancaires conformes à la charia à plus de 85.000 clients, est exploitée par le Qatar pour financer une quinzaine d’organisations islamistes, dont une association inscrite sur les listes américaines des organisations terroristes et quatre autres entités (une mosquée et trois associations caritatives) qui ont trouvé refuge auprès d’al-Rayan Bank, suite au gel de leurs comptes par d’autres banques britanniques, telles que Barclays, HSBC, NatWest et Lloyds, dans le cadre d’investigations liées au financement du terrorisme.
Les dix autres organisations controversées, financées par le Qatar, via la banque al-Rayan, sont liées au Frères musulmans. La plus célèbre est Nectar Trust, qui a pris le relai de la banche britannique de Qatar Charity, dissoute en 2014. Nectar Trust aurait versé via al-Rayan Bank plus de 37 millions de livres sterling (40 millions d’Euros) à des entités liées au Frères musulmans à travers l’Europe.
Or, les capitaux d’al-Rayan Bank sont détenus à 70% par la banque qatarie Masraf al-Rayan, basée à Doha, dont la majorité des actions sont détenus pas des organismes étatiques. Quant au 30% restant des capitaux d’al-Rayan, ils sont détenus par un portefeuille d’investissement appartenant au fond souverain qatari et dirigé par Hamad Bin Jassim al-Thani. D’où l’empressement de ce dernier à liquider ses propriétés en Grande Bretagne et en France, estimées à environs 869 millions de dollars, de crainte de faire l’objet d’un gel des ses avoirs, pour financement du terrorisme, si les investigations diligentées à l’encontre d’al-Rayan Bank parviennent à établir sa responsabilité personnelle dans les largesses accordée pars cette banque à des organisations extrémistes.
Les noms de deux autres membres de la famille al-Thani, et non des moindres, sont cités dans des investigations et des plaintes judiciaires occidentales. Il s’agit de deux frères de l’actuel émir Tamim Bin Hamad Bin Khalifa al-Thani. Le premier, Fahad Bin Hamad Bin Khalifa al-Thani, dont les penchants salafistes sont un secret de polichinelles connu de toutes les chancelleries occidentales, est cité dans une investigation ciblant une association qui finance une médersa (école coranique) radicale au Pakistan. Quant au second, Khalid Bin Hamad Bin Khalifa al-Thani, il fait l’objet d’une plainte fédérale aux Etat-Unis, depuis le 23 juillet dernier, pour avoir commandité une tentative de meurtre visant deux citoyens américains.
Le quatrième membre de la famille princière, suspecté de financement du terrorisme est Abdulaziz Abdulrahman al-Thani. Personnage clé des « œuvres caritatives » qataries, il a été successivement le PDG de la fondation Qatar Charity, du Qatari Royal Family Council et du Qatari Joint Committee for Relief. Il président actuellement deux associations islamiques en Suisse, Qoranona et Aziz Aid, co-dirigées par Nicolas Blancho, un islamiste converti Suisse très controversé, qualifié par la presse suisse d’« islamiste le plus dangereux du pays » et surnommé le « Ben Laden de Bienne » (voir page 12 la chronique de Ian Hamel).
Blancho a mis en place deux associations suisses, qui servent de parachutes, à travers lesquels Qoranona et Aziz Aid apportent du soutien financiers à des réseaux salafistes. Il s’agit du Conseil Central Islamique Suisse (CCIS) et de l’Association des Savant Musulmans (ASM).
Or, le secrétaire général du CCIS, le qatari Ali Bin Abdullah al-Suwaidi, figure sur la liste noire américaine des personnalités finançant le terrorisme, en raison de son soutien financier à al-Qaida. Le président de l’ASM, Abdulmohsen al-Mutairi (Blancho n’en est que le secrétaire général), a lui aussi été inscrit par le Trésor américain, en décembre 2016, sur la liste des personnalités finançant le terrorisme. Il en est de même pour Abdel Wahab al-Homaiqani, membre la direction de l’ASM, épinglé pour avoir fourni du soutien logistique à al-Qaida au Yémen (AQPA). Et Shefqet Krasniqi, un autre cadre de l’ASM, a été condamné au Kosovo, en février 2017, pour financement du terrorisme et évasion fiscale.